Mama Bear's Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
The four little bears in my household all loved this recipe! I did make some of the adjustments suggested by other reviewers -- continuing to cook while adding the eggs and sweetening with brown sugar. It was definitely a hit with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Love this. I eat it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I have been eating this recipe every morning for about a week now. I have made so many different ways, like with almondmilk, with no milk at all, with normal milk replacing the powdered milk, with and without vanilla extract, etc. The recipe is very versatile and i can change it depending on whatever I have in my fridge or feel like making. I fourth the recipe but keep the original amount of cinnamon every time. I love how creamy and delicious (esp with honey YUM) this recipe is!! I have never tasted any oatmeal quite like this!It has ton of protein which I need since I started P90x about 2 weeks ago and i love how it keeps me satisfied and full till lunchtime even if I don't eat lunch till 1 or 2.Thanks you so much Becky!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I thought this was an excellent recipe. I have two picky kids who I have been trying just about every recipe I find to get them to eat oatmeal. Thought this one would do it, but no so much. It came a lot closer than most, but i am still looking.... Thanks anyway! I will definitally make it for myself, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Simla, Colorado, USA
Living In: Ulysses, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I thought this was very good! I like warm breakfast cereal, so this was perfect for me. I did it exactly the way written, except I was a little impatient and added my raisins and vanilla right after it returned to a boil. :) I don't think it changed the overall taste any, but it did make the raisins softer (which I liked!). I will be making this again tomorrow for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This stuff is amazing! It was rich and creamy, like a dessert for breakfast but kept me full and satisfied all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Ohio, USA
Living In: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This was like a custard-y oatmeal. It had a velvety, pleasant texture, but lacked a little sweetness when made as written. You certainly could sweeten it to your liking by adding more honey or even some sugar sprinkled on. If you don't like oatmeal, though, you probably won't like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Very Delicious, and hearty :) It tastes like oatmeal with custard. I don't really like regular oatmeal, but this stuff is super. I've shared it with a few friends, and made it for my husband (who really doesn't like oatmeal), and they've all given this recipe rave reviews. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Very nice alternative to plain oatmeal, the eggs and butter really add something to this. Definitely "custardy" taste. Make sure to beat each egg very well and add one at a time. I think it needs a bit of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Z

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reedville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
My 3-yr old asked me to make her porridge like the 3 bears ate in Goldilocks, so I found this recipe and made it for her. I didn't think she'd eat it, but she really enjoyed it and so did I! I did add a little brown sugar since I like my oatmeal sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJANAY44

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States