Mama Bear's Porridge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by juliisamama
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I used 2% milk not powdered and I added mashed bananas to the mixture as well as egg. I stirred in the cinnamon and sweetner. I also added bananas too the top chopped up for a nice look at the top. And it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Great hardy breakfast. I used skim milk instead of water and dry milk. I also added the eggs to a 1/2 cup of skim milks and whisked together. This then needed to be simmered again to cook the eggs and get to the right consistency. Yummy creamy oatmeal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I used 1% milk instead of the powdered milk because that is what I had, but that was my only change. I often add cinnamon, raisins, and or eggs to oatmeal but I never thought of add vanilla extract. What a good idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I make this again and again. I also used steel cut oats and oatbran instead of the rolled oats. My favorite: stir some nut butter in and let it melt in the hot porridge, really creamy and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
It's hard to get excited about oatmeal but this is a fantastic recipe. Easy to make, fast, healthy and it did keep me full until lunchtime. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This is amazing... I've always loved porridge, but this version is definitely the best. I've never added eggs or vanilla, and I think that's what really makes it special. I'm not a fan of evaporated milk, so I boiled the oats in soymilk for creaminess. I prefer it without the milk and honey at the end, and just up the brown sugar. Yummy! I've even tried it boiled in chocolate almond milk, and walnuts instead of raisins... This is my new favourite comfort food, and I've made it three times this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha Church

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Very yummie. My pre schooler ate it also. I made exactly as written except that i added a little bit more raisins. Will make again, Thanks for sharring,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I really liked this the first time I made it. But have since changed it a bit to fit the taste buds of my kids. I make my oatmeal as I normally do (water, oats, raisins, br. sugar, cinn., milk, etc) but I add a Tbs or so of powd. milk when it's still on the stove, as well as an egg, for the added creaminess and protein. So, same idea as the recipe, but just scaled down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HRS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This was semi ok but I don't think I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This porridge is wonderful! (I admit, I don't really know the difference between porridge & oatmeal) I like that it doesn't use sugar or sugar subs to sweeten, but that it uses honey. I did not add raisins and left mine plain, added cherries to my hubs' and bananas to the bebe's. All three were extremely well received! This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States