Maltese Rabbit Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Marinade the rabbit for a few hours even overnight, in wine, lots of garlic and onions. Fry rabbit as above and use marinade in the stew too. Enjoy. ymmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I am Maltese and have been looking for an authentic recipe...This is it! Also, I use the leftover sauce to make spaghetti!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Had this dish today at a school party -- it was delicious! My first taste of rabbit. Very tasty, the seasoning was perfect. I will definitely make this for a family meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Very nice recipe, which I suspect would work just as well with any kind of meat.. We happened to have a rabbit -- a Snowshoe Hare my son got while bird hunting birds. Didn't use a bay leaf because I didn't have any, and used eight carrots instead of two, and also used one of those little cups of bouillon instead of a cube. Otherwise I followed the recipe. Sea salt and good cracked black peppercorns probably helped, too. It was delicious, and dipping some locally made bread in the broth was very tasty. It's kind of labor intensive but worth the effort; I'd give it five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
The recipe is very similar to my grandmothe'rs (minus the fresh rabbit taken from the villa's rooftop cages). This brought back a lot of memories. Unfortunately, I seemed to have bought a tough rabbit that came out a little dry. Otherwise it was as good as I remembered from childhood. Next time will let it cook in wine a little longer before adding starches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
so good replace oil with olive oil makes it so rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wac74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenside, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Good. Was the first time preparing rabbit for me. Didn't have a dutch oven big enough, so I browned the pieces in a skillet and put them in a roaster. After browning the meat, I poured the red wine in the pan to get all of the brown bits off then added that to the roaster along with all of the other ingredients (plus a little water). Roasted it for an hour and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This is an easy and good recipe for rabbit. My rabbits are usually around 5lbs dressed and I would recommend tripling the vegetables, and doubling all other ingredients when you have a larger rabbit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
been making this dish for years. turns out great everytime. only change i do is i dont use any stock, and i usually add 3 pieces of lemon peel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
This was my first try at cooking rabbit and this recipe was wonderful. It is so aromatic and flavorful. After simmering for an hour, I thickened it with 2 teaspoons corn starch mixed with 2 tablespoons water. Other than that I followed the recipe as written. Thank you Joely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sMOEkin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States