Malooba Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
This is a great all in one meal. It smells wonderful while it's cooking. Put it on a fancy platter and it looks beautiful. It is really simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
Thanks so much for submitting this recipe. I am a newly converted American muslim, and I have tasted and seen this dish prepared by other muslims. Its nice to have my own recipe now. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
My Jordanian husband makes this all the time. I don't care for the chicken with bones so he uses boneless skinless chicken breast and just reduces the boiling time. He also uses a pinch of saffron while soaking the rice... it gives it a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
This recipe tasted better than any maalooba dish i have ever tasted. It was so authentic and tasted better than my mothers. Thank you imankay for this recipe keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Very good maqlooba recipe, love the addition of tomatoes. I halved the recipe and worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
This recipe is for a difficult middle eastern dish that i have had for years with friends and its perfect. I recently made it for my friends and they absolutely loved it, i gave this recipe out to many people. And as for the measurements of allspice its perfect it tastes just like how arabic food should taste, not bland!! Thanks imankay, look forward for more recipes from you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rnbarnum
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Makloubeh is a traditional Middle Eastern dish that I first had in Jordan. I remember my mother making it and am now making it for my children. A few steps but fairly easy and so yummy. Plus the house smells great while it's cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
Good recipe. It is a bit time consuming and frustrating since you need 3-4 different pots to make it the wasy suggested but I am sure the end result is very pretty. Mine did not look that pretty but tasted good. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I submitted this recipe, and I would just like to say that you can add chopped carrots to this dish as well The sweetness is wonderful. Also, most of the time I do add maggi cubes (chicken bouillon cubes). Use at least one cube, remember to salt after you add the cubes since chicken stock is salted. Also over the years I have started to add a little more spices, try adding 1 tsp of cumin or curry. It's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMANKAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Smells and tastes great. Guests were impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States