Malooba Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
My Jordanian husband makes this all the time. I don't care for the chicken with bones so he uses boneless skinless chicken breast and just reduces the boiling time. He also uses a pinch of saffron while soaking the rice... it gives it a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Absolutely wonderful! I substituted beef instead of chicken. The only thing I think it could have used some salt and oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This dish was both bland and odd tasting and all the allspice gave it a dull appearance. DH went to make toast for his supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
Very good. It looks and smells delicious, but I have to admit that it needs more spice...especially salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tripoli, North, Lebanon
Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
Wow is this ever good! I cheated and used a 10 pound turkey instead of a chicken (it's what I had) and doubled the rest of the ingredients, but it turned out delicious, probably better than with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
Good recipe! I usually mix the rice and cauliflower together and, instead of potatoes, I use fried eggplant between the chicken and the rice. After flipping this dish over (maklooba), I brown some pine nuts and sprinkle on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
Thanks so much for submitting this recipe. I am a newly converted American muslim, and I have tasted and seen this dish prepared by other muslims. Its nice to have my own recipe now. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
This recipe is for a difficult middle eastern dish that i have had for years with friends and its perfect. I recently made it for my friends and they absolutely loved it, i gave this recipe out to many people. And as for the measurements of allspice its perfect it tastes just like how arabic food should taste, not bland!! Thanks imankay, look forward for more recipes from you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
This recipe tasted better than any maalooba dish i have ever tasted. It was so authentic and tasted better than my mothers. Thank you imankay for this recipe keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
Good recipe. It is a bit time consuming and frustrating since you need 3-4 different pots to make it the wasy suggested but I am sure the end result is very pretty. Mine did not look that pretty but tasted good. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States