Malooba Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by IsraelJane
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Excellent recipe. Thanks It takes a long time to prepare but the results are worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
The is by far the best maklouba recipe I have found. It tastes a lot like my Jordanian in-laws make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rnbarnum
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Makloubeh is a traditional Middle Eastern dish that I first had in Jordan. I remember my mother making it and am now making it for my children. A few steps but fairly easy and so yummy. Plus the house smells great while it's cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I made a version of this with a Jordanian friend of mine and it is truly amazing. It was my first experience with Arabic cuisine. My friend stuffed the bird with a mixture of spiced rice and ground lamb and used fried cauliflower and fried eggplant. I also think she used some tumeric. This was for a post ramadan feast. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
made exactly as described. Smelled nice. Was EXTREMELY mild - could use a lot more spices. I was disappointed. My kids ate it the first night, but wouldn't finish the leftovers. Had to throw the rest away - and this makes a LOT. Won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
This dish is the family favorite. A few ingredients I would like to add. For veggies, you can also add eggplant. Califlower is the more traditional way, but my husband prefers broccoli, and it's very good. I also add chick peas with the vegetables. Spices, I add ground cinnamon, salt, chicken bullion. I add this to the chicken, while its boiling, and I also sprinkle all the spices to the rice before adding it to the pot. Sprinkle toasted silvered almonds before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I submitted this recipe, and I would just like to say that you can add chopped carrots to this dish as well The sweetness is wonderful. Also, most of the time I do add maggi cubes (chicken bouillon cubes). Use at least one cube, remember to salt after you add the cubes since chicken stock is salted. Also over the years I have started to add a little more spices, try adding 1 tsp of cumin or curry. It's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMANKAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Very good maqlooba recipe, love the addition of tomatoes. I halved the recipe and worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Smells and tastes great. Guests were impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Great recipe thanks a lot. I had this on my visit to Palestine and this recipe was much better than what I had. I used eggplant and cauliflower. I also saw some people use carrots in it. Its good that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States