Mall Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Just pulled these out of the oven and YUM! Did take a while, but I think they are perfect for a lazy day :) Used my Kitchenaid hook for the kneading, rolling them took a bit a patience and practice. Couldn't seem to get them thin enough to look like "professional" grade, not that it mattered as they certainly tasted like it! Thank you so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
These were awesome! I followed recipe exactly except that I did boil the water/baking soda and then dip the pretzels in it. When they cooled, I put the leftover pretzels in a ziploc freezer bag. Reheated in micro for 30 seconds and they were just like fresh! I sprinkled mine with a little salt before baking, and my kids brushed them with butter while they were warm because they like them extra buttery. A hit with the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
These are very good. Not as good as the ones in the mall, but still great. I found them to be to thin if they where rolled "pencil thin" so I rolled mine a bit thicker. I did not use parchment paper, I just sprayed my pan with PAM backing spray and had no problems with them sticking. Overall great pretzels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJHRox
Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This is the first time I've made soft pretzels, and they were delicious! Also, very easy to make and fun to roll and shape! I found that my dough had to sit for 2 hours to rise, but other than that it was exactly as stated. I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Excellent recipe, except the salt should be added in the flour step and not before. After forming into pretzel shapes, you should allow it to at least double in size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
We really like these pretzels. Made the few changes in the preparation based on other reviews, and was impressed with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bonner Springs, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Never did I ever think I could make a pretzel at home. In less than 24 hours we have made 2 batches so I think I've eaten at least 8 to 10. Someone stop me! LOL. These are awesome and easy and this is the first time I've made a dough from scratch. Be aware of the proofing times as they are somewhat important. Too long and the dough becomes unworkable. Baste with butter, top with fresh Parmesan and Kosher salt. Thanks for the recipe - perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XLR8R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Seeing as I have never made pretzels before I wasn't sure if I could modify them to make them lower fat, lower cal and still have them turn out but tried it anyway...and they were wonderful!! Made the recipe as is with the following substitutions... 1 TBSP Splenda brown sugar blend instead of 2 TBSP regular brown sugar, 2 tsp quick rise yeast instead of the active dry yeast and Becel 64% less fat in place of the butter! I made mine into 16 pretzels and ended up with the following nutritional info...114 cals, 23 g carbs, 1 g fat, and 3 g protein...and sooo worth every bite! My family is insisting I make more tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEEKYMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage La Prairie, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nillawafers
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
My first time trying to make yeasty pretzels and it turned out great! I followed the recipe exactly, and everything went smooth and as planned. The only thing I did extra was set the dipped pretzels on a (clean) kitchen towel to soak up some of the baking soda solution. They came right off the pan! Also, I did roll them pencil thin or smaller in the beginning but they weren't rising the way I wanted them to, so I made them slightly larger than a pencil (think crayon). They ended up much thicker and softer than my original pencil thin pretzels. I may have let it rise a little too much while doubling, so I would just cook your first batch immediately to see how it rises. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,072) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States