Mall Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
My son wanted to make pretzels, we had a snow day (yes, in Atlanta!), so we tried these. They were fantastic. Having read some of the reviews, we doubled the water/soda solution, which was a good choice. We didn't roll them out as much as it said - bad plan! Flavor, of course, wasn't affected, but we were surprised at how they grew in the oven. We didn't really want them to be HUGE, but we should've made them bigger than we did. Oh, well, live and learn. He was also worried about the ones he rolled out, which didn't roll out as nicely mine, being more experience, but once baked, it really didn't matter. We couldn't tell who had made which ones. We did laugh about trying to figure out "pretzel" shapes - twisting them was fun and funny. Great project for "together" time and learning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
My kids went crazy for these! I made the dough on the dough-cycle of my breadmaker. The rolling and shaping was somewhat of a nightmare, but all is well that ends well! They weren't very pretty, but they were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
These were DELISH. My friend didn't want to struggle through the rope-making, so we just did pretzel bites. And they were amazing. The favorite dip was the ground mustard, but everyone loved them! Kids, adults, dogs...deliciousness for all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Perrault

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I make these for my students every year for Valentine's Day. I just pull the bottom of the pretzel to a point and the pretzels look like hearts! My students love them (me, too!); these are so yummy and easy and a nice change of pace from all the sugar kids get on V-Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This recipe is scrumptious! My family ate them right up. They're great with egg salad and avocado for supper or with jam or chocolate for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
We loved this recipe. It tasted good and was very forgiving. We waited to roll out the second half and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Greg
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
My 4 year old and I made these and they were awesome. Very easy to make and absolutely delicious. We will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rice, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
These just came out of the oven and I have to say they are absolutely delicious!!! try the recipe as is. SO good. Thanks!! it's a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
The taste was just not here for us. Did not taste like the mall pretzels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by esme
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
So easy to make and absolutely delicious!! I didn't have bread flour, but they turned out great with all-purpose flour. I used a kitchen aid mixer to do the kneading with the dough hook. I let the dough rise in a greased bowl (with a wet towel on top) inside the oven with a small saucepan of hot water on the rack below the rack where I placed the bowl. I doubled the amount of water and baking soda to soak the formed pretzels in--thanks to the comments for this tip! I kept the water/baking soda simmering in a pot and placed one pretzel at a time in the solution. When I removed each pretzel from the water, I placed them briefly on a paper towel before transferring them to a silicone mat-lined baking sheet (I didn't use parchment paper). They turned out golden and beautiful (without egg wash) on the convection setting of my oven at 450 F for 8 minutes. Thank you so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,070) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States