Mall Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Alex
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Time consuming and required a fair amount of effort - but worth it! Very yummy. I couldn't for the life of me get the dough ropes pencil thin nor three feet long so I guess my pretzels were smaller and puffier than they were supposed to be, but no matter. They taste great. My first four turned out ugly/broken because I decided to bake them on a pizza stone and they stuck really badly. I don't know if it's my pizza stone that's not great quality, or if pretzels shouldn't be baked on one (because they were still a little wet from the baking soda bath when they hit the pizza stone), but I stuck to parchment covered baking sheets for the rest of the batch and that worked great. This won't really be something I'll make all the time, but I'd definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by quinlanamy
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Loved these! I did add about 2 more tablespoons of water during mixing because it just seemed a little too crumbly. Other than that they were great, easy to work with the dough and seriously delicious. Did half with coarse salt and half cinnamon sugar...can't even decide which were better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I had difficulty making this in a larger batch. The dough was so stiff, it caused my industrial mixer to overheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Smith

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Hobart, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I do believe this recipe will make my picky grandkids happy, lol! OMG! This recipe is a keeper. I think these are better than the mall pretzels.... even though these ARE, indeed, mall pretzels. I gave a 5 star. Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Best pretzel recipe I have ever tried! They are so delicious and chewy. The best part is how easy it turned out to be to make them. I made my own garlic butter to brush on the pretzels. And would definitely recommend this recipe to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Have made these twice now and love them. The first time a I cut them up into bite size pieces instead of shaping them into pretzels and took them to work. My employees loved them. I brought some different things for them to put on them (salt, parmesan, cinnamon/sugar, but they loved them just plain. I made them again last night and made them into pretzels this time, only small ones and frozen them so I don't eat them all at once. Now I have snacks for a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I made these and they were really good. Not exactly like the mall ones, but really good for home made. They seemed a bit chewy but not too bad. I'd make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReadMyLips26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I love Auntie Ann's, so I was a little disappointed when they didn't taste EXACTLY like then. However, I can't complain too much. These pretzels are delicious and came out perfect. I'll definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Absolutely fantastic! After reading the other reviews, I wasn't really sure what to expect, but the recipe was perfect as is. The only thing was that I only had to add 3 1/2 cups a/p flour (I didn't have any bread flour left). I also cooked them in the middle rack in a convection oven on parchment for 7 minutes, which gave them a very nice, even browning. No burnt bottoms here! And I had absolutely no problem with the dough being overly sticky. The finished product turned out deliciously perfect. I think some of the people having problems may not have enough experience with making bread products. Bread can be very finicky (altitude, ambient temperature, humidity all make a difference), and after many years of making breads, personally, I know what to look for consistancy-wise. As you're kneading the dough (exactly 8 minutes for me), it should be tacky, but not sticky (kind of like the same tackiness as the sticky side of Post-It Notes), and very smooth. They rolled out beautifully as a nice, thin rope, too. I will be using this recipe over and over again, as I LOVE soft pretzels! Thanks for posting! And for those of you that they did't work out for... try again! They're awesome when you get them right!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geecko

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oliver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I made these last night, and while the texture and appearance of the pretzels was great, I really felt they lacked flavor. I was expecting a yeasty and slightly sweet flavor, but that was absent. The flavor just seemed kind of...flat. I did end up needing another 3-4 T of flour because the dough was very sticky and unworkable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cblwolf

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,073) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States