Mall Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Very good pretzels. Just came out of the oven a 1/2 hour ago. Husband & son had two each, and said they were the best, and better than the mall kind. I followed the recipe exactly. Don't be afraid or weary (I was) of the brown sugar it works just fine. Using parchment paper is the way to go in my opinion, reduces the chance of burning the bottoms (great for cookies too), and not sticking to the sheet. I plan on doing more with cinnamon & sugar, garlic butter, and whatever my family can come up with. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Fierimonte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
My kids and I had so much fun with this tasty recipe! I made pretzel braids with some of them and they turned out great. I topped a few cooked pretzels with tomato sauce, mozzarella & pepperoni and put them back in the oven for about 5 minutes...quick and tasty meal idea! I'd recommend maxing the oven time at 8 minutes as mine got pretty brown at 9 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott Crosthwaite
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Fantastic recipe. Great taste. Fun to make also. I can not keep those in stck. My family devours them. I used the parchment paper and didn't have any issues at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Crosthwaite
Living In: Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Red LoRusso
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
It simply didn't taste anything like a pretzel. I thought I made it the way the instructions said, but either I messed up or this recipe did. When making it I heavily brushed on the baking soda solution to mimic a dip since they were unraveling as I did so. It did expand a lot which demented some of my more tightly braided ones, but it didn't matter that much, just make them thin and wide. After I was finished making them all and most of them had risen I went to brush them with a little egg wash and they deflated to my disappointment. After they got out of the oven there was a fight to the death to get the pretzels off of the foil, so butter it up or you'll lose that fight. The bottoms cook quickly, so be wary, but over all they seemed fine until I tasted it. It tasted like crappy bread. One good thing I did do though was use Hawaiian sea salt just before putting them in the oven. It made it taste at least a little bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red LoRusso

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Photo by Nanny Snowflake
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Such a simple but delicious recipe! Easy to make and bake :) I did use all-purpose flour for the whole recipe since I didn't have any bread flour, and they still came out fine. I found they were even better the next day because they softened just a bit... YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanny Snowflake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Love it,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
wow! I love this recipe. these turned out perfect. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
They turned out alright, but were very very salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I used my bread machine to mix the dough, other than that I followed the recipe and instructions. I only made 6, and froze the rest of the dough for next weekend. There is only 2 of us and we don't need 12 pretzels to eat at once. Very good pretzels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Yum! We didn't use flour to form the pretzels. We doubled the water and baking soda, brought it to a simmer, and dropped each in for about 10 seconds, until they floated. They started rising right away and were ready to bake in about 10 minutes. We baked them at 415 for about 10 minutes based on some reviews. but I think 450 for 8 would be fine, too. I thought the cinn-sugar tasted a little odd, but the salted ones were great. I think a little more salt in the dough might be good. They were beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLANAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,059) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States