Mall Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Okay. Seriously, I normally only like hard pretzels, and usually only eat the soft ones on rare occasions and doused in cheese sauce. But, the kid loves Auntie Anne's pretzels, and I love the kid, so I begrudgingly made these. The next thing I knew, I had eaten two, and was working on a third! Man, are these amazing! I followed the recipe exactly- not a single change. The editor's footnote for rolling the dough was incredibly helpful. This dough is very forgiving and easy to work with. I made traditional shaped pretzels, with butter and salt, and little pretzel nuggets dipped in butter and cinnamon sugar. These were a lot of fun to make, and awesomely delicious to eat! Thanks for sharing a great recipe Jeannie Yee :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I have never reviewed anything before but I just wanted to say, I made these with my 3 year old today and they turned out really good. I did follow some of the reviews that said to throw them in boiling water/ baking soda bath but that's the only way I really differed from the recipe. I also didn't top them with anything before baking because I'm trying to watch the salt intake of my two little ones. They don't taste EXACTLY like the pretzels you get at the mall but they're still really good. So glad I found this recipe since I've been craving soft pretzels since I got pregnant and this is way cheaper than going to the mall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Yep. Love em. Used ginger/cinnamon/sugar/salt as my topping. MMMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I'm not much of a baker or cook - but I tried my hand at these. I dipped them in boiling baking soda bath (as others have recommended) and used all purpose flour. I buttered and salted them before I put them in the oven. They turned out great! My husband was laughing at me while I tried to roll them out (which was a little bit of a challenge), but he sure is eating his words now! I cut the recipe in half and just made 6 pretzels, which was perfect for me - and I have a KitchenAid mixer too so I kneaded it on Speed 2 for about 8 minutes. Trust me, if I can make these pretzels and have them taste as good as Auntie Anne's - then so can you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
These pretzels were awesome! Followed the recipe exactly and they turned out as good as mall pretzels. The one thing I did differently is to make pretzel bites rather than whole pretzels. I rolled the dough and than cut it into bite size pieces and baked them for only 15 min. The whole family devoured them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staceybaakko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I would not say these were quite mall pretzel's, but so far they were the best of all the recipes I have tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DrSeussFreak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by WannaBeChef
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I used 4 cups of all-purpose flour. The pretzels came out very tasty! I had 2, and my hubby had 3! The kids love 'em too! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kasia
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Great pretzels! I was looking for a long time for a good pretzels recipe and this is it! Tempted by so many good reviews I've decided to bake them:) Not difficult to work with at all, though prep time is a bit long it's really worth it! I made little changes e.g. first I let yeast-sugar-salt-warm water mixture rest for about 15 minute until yeast began to "work" before i stir in flour etc another change I made is I cooked each pretzel side for about 15 sec in the baking soda solution instead of just dipping them and the last change was a mixture of egg yolk and water instead of butter:) I highly recommend this recipe! Pretzels are simply great! Not too bready, not too hard, just delicious:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kasia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
A friend and I had never made pretzels. This recipe was easy and the results were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Seymour

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Great except I altered in the following way: Boiled it in 3 cups water + FIVE TBSP baking soda which was on a gentle simmer - about 45 secs each pretzel; I basted with an egg wash before I baked; Buttered and salted each one when it was being eaten
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,075) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States