Mall Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
The dough recipe is spot on!!! I twisted the dough in the shape of candy canes as we are nearing Christmas. As suggested by another reviewer I boiled the pretzels in 6 cups of water and 6 tbsp of baking soda until they floated, one at a time. Then I let them rise for 20 other minutes uncovered, basted them with egg and sprinkled coarse salt on the first batch and cinnamon sugar on the second batch. Then I baked them for 15 minutes at 425 degrees on a baking stone, and they came out golden and beautiful. I enjoyed the thicker pretzels the most, so I will roll them all fatter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
These were just okay to me. Mine didn't brown nicely or achieve a true pretzel texture for some reason. The kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Awesome easy recipe! Mine come out thick like some of the pictures compared to Auntie Anne pretzels but I like them thick like that. Made a melted garlic butter sauce for dipping and they were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This was a good recipe - but I did add an egg wash before baking. I have been wanting to make pretzels for a while - I have now decided however it is too much work for something that gets gobbled up right away. I guess that isn't a bad thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
This is by far the best recipe I've ever discovered. I've been following this same technique with the exception of using bread flour and all purpose flour at 1:1 ratio. Otherwise no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by biergarden
Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Time consuming, but recipe is perfect and we LOVED them.....my daughter and I had to force ourselves not to eat them all, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Very good. I used my bread machine on the dough cycle so that I can throw it in and forget about it. I used a little bit of flour during the rolling to keep it formed. Covered with cinnamon and sugar to become candidate for the best dad ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I just put the left overs away, by sheer will power there are leftovers at all. So so yummy, even my very picky hubby liked them. I served them with nacho cheese. I had a hard time shaping them, I never got the 3' pencil thin strip to work with, they werent too ugly, but i think ill look up a youtube example next time on how to actually put it together. I got irritated with it and froze half of the dough for some other time, I hope they turn out just as good. I have not had a mall pretzel in a long time, so i cant really compare taste, but this sucker was soooo good!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
The kids and I thought they were great, but I did put 2 pans in at a time in order to make it go faster and by far, the ones cooked on the top rack were better! The ones on the bottom got too dark. I think I will try the boiling thing next time too. Just curious mostly. I didn't have parchment paper, so just buttered the pans real well, but still had to pry them off with a spatula. Great taste though, just looking to perfect it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Love these!! Only reason it didnt get 5 starts is because they dont tase like mall pretzels. Followed recipe and they came out great. I make them as little bites and bring them on road trips and they are always a hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,073) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States