Malaysian Quinoa (Vegetarian) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I thought this was great. It was super easy, fast and tasted good too. I made a few changes to the sauce though. Doubling the coconut milk (I didn't have coconut cream) and peanut butter, really made the dish more saucy rather than dry. I also added lemon juice and just used a serrano pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This was great both with tofu, seitan & chicken. I used regular coconut milk instead of the cream of coconut. With the sweetened peanut butter the dressing turned out fine. Very tasty. If you add a lot of veggies to this (and make a little more dressing to cover them) this recipe shines!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
This was fantastic. I didn't have soy chunks on hand, so we used Quorn tenders instead. Since they didn't need to be rehydrated, I simply cooked them in a pan separate from the sauce and blended them together before adding to the quinoa. I also just added a tiny bit of water to the sauce rather than the 1/2 cup the recipe called for- I wasn't sure how much water would have been left after the soy had been rehydrated, so I just guessed- maybe 2 or 3 Tbs. I then doubled the amount of the sauce since the previous reviewer had said it was dry. This made a perfect amount and was really delicious, though I think next time I'll add a little more peanut butter. It also only really made enough for my boyfriend and I, so next time I'll definitely double the recipe as we easily could have eaten more and we both LOVED it. Very nice flavor, and I love getting new recipes for quinoa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I doubled the peanut butter and used coconut milk, as many others did. Although I love peanut butter, that was really all that I could taste from the end product. The texture was also creamier than I had expected, but possible due to having more sauce than the original recipe yields. Overall, the recipe was okay. I may try it again with more alterations/additions. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I was really excited to try this, as I cook this kind of recipe a lot, and love asian food. However, this was just not good, in my opinion. In an attempt to improve it, I added sesame oil, more peanut butter, herbed-garlic-salt, increased the coconut milk, added yellow & orange peppers, and still it was so-so. Sorry. Won't bother with this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
To quote from a previous reviewer: "I doubled the peanut butter and added extra chiles but the end result was disappointing. Like another reviwer (sic), the only taste that really came through was peanut butter." Then why did you double the peanut butter? IMHO people should try the basic recipe first (and review it on that basis first!) before making major changes. By the way, although I'm usually not fond of soy products, this dish was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I just made this and I liked it for the most part but did make a few changes. I added more sauce like suggested in previous reviews but it might have been okay with what's written. I also added baked tofu instead of soy chunks so I just added some water to the sauce then added tofu later. I also added about a tablespoon of Tamari (aged soy sauce) for a little more flavor and 2 teaspoons of chili paste instead of the chili because I didn't have one. In previous review there was some confusion about coconut cream. The cream is the part towards the top of the coconut milk can before it's mixed together. Overall I thought it was yummy and very forgiving to changes/modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Veggie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
YUMMY. Doubled the peanut butter as others suggested, used coconut milk and Serrano pepper. Used tempeh for the soy chunks. Added 1/4c golden raisins to the sauce as an afterthought. I inhaled this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I found this to be very dry (even after adding a good bit more water), and the cooking time seems off. The flavors didn't do it for me, and I love Southeast Asian food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Boring. Not bad, just boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

All about Quinoa

See all you can do with this centuries-old super grain.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States