Malaysian Quinoa (Vegetarian) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Followed this recipe exactly (found coconut cream at Trader Joe's) except for the pepper, which I had never heard of and neither had anybody else I could find, so substituted a spoonful of Thai pepper paste. Served it over steamed veggies, and am lovin' it!!!! Got enough leftovers for tomorrow...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
YUMMY. Doubled the peanut butter as others suggested, used coconut milk and Serrano pepper. Used tempeh for the soy chunks. Added 1/4c golden raisins to the sauce as an afterthought. I inhaled this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Boring. Not bad, just boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
To quote from a previous reviewer: "I doubled the peanut butter and added extra chiles but the end result was disappointing. Like another reviwer (sic), the only taste that really came through was peanut butter." Then why did you double the peanut butter? IMHO people should try the basic recipe first (and review it on that basis first!) before making major changes. By the way, although I'm usually not fond of soy products, this dish was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I just made this and I liked it for the most part but did make a few changes. I added more sauce like suggested in previous reviews but it might have been okay with what's written. I also added baked tofu instead of soy chunks so I just added some water to the sauce then added tofu later. I also added about a tablespoon of Tamari (aged soy sauce) for a little more flavor and 2 teaspoons of chili paste instead of the chili because I didn't have one. In previous review there was some confusion about coconut cream. The cream is the part towards the top of the coconut milk can before it's mixed together. Overall I thought it was yummy and very forgiving to changes/modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Veggie

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I doubled the peanut butter and added extra chiles but the end result was disappointing. Like another reviwer, the only taste that really came through was peanut butter. Altogether too bland for me. I wonder if it would help if you soaked the soya chunks in something like onion stock? Thanks for the recipe anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I doubled the peanut butter and used coconut milk, as many others did. Although I love peanut butter, that was really all that I could taste from the end product. The texture was also creamier than I had expected, but possible due to having more sauce than the original recipe yields. Overall, the recipe was okay. I may try it again with more alterations/additions. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This was great both with tofu, seitan & chicken. I used regular coconut milk instead of the cream of coconut. With the sweetened peanut butter the dressing turned out fine. Very tasty. If you add a lot of veggies to this (and make a little more dressing to cover them) this recipe shines!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I was really excited to try this, as I cook this kind of recipe a lot, and love asian food. However, this was just not good, in my opinion. In an attempt to improve it, I added sesame oil, more peanut butter, herbed-garlic-salt, increased the coconut milk, added yellow & orange peppers, and still it was so-so. Sorry. Won't bother with this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I thought this was great. It was super easy, fast and tasted good too. I made a few changes to the sauce though. Doubling the coconut milk (I didn't have coconut cream) and peanut butter, really made the dish more saucy rather than dry. I also added lemon juice and just used a serrano pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

See how to make delicious vegetarian black bean burgers.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States