Malaysian Beef Rendang Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Love making authentic curries, never tried Malaysian food before so couldn't tell you how authentic it was but it definitely tasted good! Used some suggestions in these reviews, I added turmeric as well as well as galangal and tamarind as I've seen those used in other recipes. Also added extra fresh green chillis as love spice. Couldn't find coconut flakes anywhere so I got ready to eat coconut pieces and blended them. My only tip would be to make sure all ingredients were very well blended so you have a smooth texture (keep blending even if you think it's already smooth!) and a pestle and mortar to grind the spices. Served with chopped cucumber and red onion, natural yogurt, chutney and popadoms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
My husband and I just love it. I left out the shredded coconut as I personally think this dish has a lot of Cholesterol but I love it. And I put brown sugar instead of white. The next time, I will make a bigger portion as I found the perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This "Malaysian Beef Rendang" was very delicious. My husband and I both loved the flavor (5 stars), and it filled our home with a wonderful aroma reminiscent of the Thai restaurants in our neighborhood while it was cooking (10 stars!!!). My husband did not like the chewiness of the shredded coconut in the dish (2 stars), and asked me not to make it again unless I left out the shredded coconut. I actually liked it, and thought that it was the shredded coconut that made this dish unique relative to the many coconut-based dishes we have tried. I would not hesitate to make this recipe again. Thank you Trevor Hobson for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was just ok. I had a lot of problems getting the shallot-garlic-lemongrass-ginger paste to come together into a paste, eventually having to add water to the blender and work in batches to get it to break down properly. It tasted ok, but the pepper and the coconut kind of overpowered and the meat didn't get very tender. I've never had Rendang before, so I don't know if that's how it's supposed to taste or not, but maybe it just wasn't for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I've tried a few different rendang recipes, trying to find one that's a "keeper". This recipe is pretty good - it's a bit different to recipes I've found on south east asian blogs, but it still tastes nice. My tip would be to use kecap manis instead of sugar - it gives it the sweetness as well as depth of colour. I am not convinced about the fennel (first I have seen it in a rendang recipe), but to be honest I couldn't taste it anyway. Also, personally I am not a fan of the "crunch" of shredded coconut in my curries, I prefer them smooth, so what I do is after toasting the coconut lightly I use a mortar and pestle to grind the coconut until it is as fine as possible (or use a food processor). I also find it acts as a better thickening agent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I love this dish!! This was amazing and will be added to my list of dishes to be prepared in the future!! My first Malaysian dish and it was on point. Thanks a lot!! I enjoyed it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Good recipes, it have to be cook for more than 2-3 hour on low..i dont have shredded coconut, so i used dry unsweetned coconut flake and toasted in the pan till brown then i put it in blender with extra coconut oil to blend them till it look like coconut paste.. give this a recipe a try..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanif

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Rendang is Indonesian not Malaysian. It comes from Padang in Sumatra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Our family did not care for this dish. It was very heavy on the cloves and we do not care for a lot of clove flavor. I am sure that this would be tasty dish to some. I have to say that the meat was tender and the balance of liquid to meat mixture was good to provide enough liquid for the meat not to burn. We used our cast iron wok and it worked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Made it for dinner today. One word sums it all: AWESOME! Tastes very similar to what I used to have at my favorite Penang cuisine restaurant in Singapore..:-) Used dried coconut flakes instead of fresh coconut – worked just fine. I recommend using less sugar though. This is one of my favorites already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States