Malaysian Beef Rendang Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was just ok. I had a lot of problems getting the shallot-garlic-lemongrass-ginger paste to come together into a paste, eventually having to add water to the blender and work in batches to get it to break down properly. It tasted ok, but the pepper and the coconut kind of overpowered and the meat didn't get very tender. I've never had Rendang before, so I don't know if that's how it's supposed to taste or not, but maybe it just wasn't for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This "Malaysian Beef Rendang" was very delicious. My husband and I both loved the flavor (5 stars), and it filled our home with a wonderful aroma reminiscent of the Thai restaurants in our neighborhood while it was cooking. My husband did not like the chewiness of the shredded coconut in the dish (2 stars), and asked me not to make it again unless I left out the shredded coconut. I actually liked it, and thought that it was the shredded coconut that made this dish unique relative to the many coconut-based dishes we have tried. I would not hesitate to make this recipe again. Thank you Trevor Hobson for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I've tried a few different rendang recipes, trying to find one that's a "keeper". This recipe is pretty good - it's a bit different to recipes I've found on south east asian blogs, but it still tastes nice. My tip would be to use kecap manis instead of sugar - it gives it the sweetness as well as depth of colour. I am not convinced about the fennel (first I have seen it in a rendang recipe), but to be honest I couldn't taste it anyway. Also, personally I am not a fan of the "crunch" of shredded coconut in my curries, I prefer them smooth, so what I do is after toasting the coconut lightly I use a mortar and pestle to grind the coconut until it is as fine as possible (or use a food processor). I also find it acts as a better thickening agent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I love this dish!! This was amazing and will be added to my list of dishes to be prepared in the future!! My first Malaysian dish and it was on point. Thanks a lot!! I enjoyed it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Good recipes, it have to be cook for more than 2-3 hour on low..i dont have shredded coconut, so i used dry unsweetned coconut flake and toasted in the pan till brown then i put it in blender with extra coconut oil to blend them till it look like coconut paste.. give this a recipe a try..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanif

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Rendang is Indonesian not Malaysian. It comes from Padang in Sumatra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Our family did not care for this dish. It was very heavy on the cloves and we do not care for a lot of clove flavor. I am sure that this would be tasty dish to some. I have to say that the meat was tender and the balance of liquid to meat mixture was good to provide enough liquid for the meat not to burn. We used our cast iron wok and it worked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Made it for dinner today. One word sums it all: AWESOME! Tastes very similar to what I used to have at my favorite Penang cuisine restaurant in Singapore..:-) Used dried coconut flakes instead of fresh coconut – worked just fine. I recommend using less sugar though. This is one of my favorites already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
This is an awesome recipe, above restaurant standard if you go the extra mile. I took Kim’s advice and added a tea spoon of Turmeric and ground all the ingredients using a mortar & pestle. I used large chunks (1” cubes) of lightly marinated porterhouse and pressure cooked for about an hour. The meat was incredibly tender and melted in your mouth. The taste was amazing. Bloody bagus food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I am originally from Brunei, which is close to Malaysia. The recipe is missing tumeric powder; it is a special occasion dish, which tastes better by the 2nd or 3rd day. Also, blanched almonds with the shredded coconuts helps with buildling the sauce. A tip on making Beef Rendang is to use a mortar and pestle to grind the spices, if you could find one. It takes longer to use mortar & pestle, but you can taste the difference when you use a food processor. Also, palm sugar is preferred to white sugar. Otherwise, the recipe is quite authentic. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynniebuns

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kuala Belait, Belait, Brunei Darussalam

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Bulgogi

Traditional Korean beef marinated in a sweet and garlicky soy sauce.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States