Malasadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Elizabeth Bennet
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I just tried to make this recipe today,the batter was very sticky, after fried it tasted fluffy. This is a good recipe. But, I am not good at fried things, so my doughnut contain many oil,what a pity, I should use higher temperature to fry them next time. I will try again, because I like the fluffy malasadas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Bennet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
The taste was good. I just made this recipe and here's what I'll do next time: 1) half the recipe--way too much for me and my braddah's family. 2) 375 was way too hot-maybe 325 next time--the first batch was all "koge" (burnt). 3) my dough didn't rise so I placed the bowl in another bowl filled with warm water--next time I'll let it rise, punch it down and let it rise again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I have made these once before with my mom when I was sixteen and they were a great hit with my friends and teachers. I decided to look up the recipe again so I could make then again for my friends in college. I am hoping now that I am older and know how to cook more I will be able to make these by myself this time with not as much trouble as I had the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
It's ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
OMG!! This is just what I've been looking for. After surfing, coming in off the water, there's nothing like a bunch of hot malasadas!!!!! Truly Portugese/Hawaiian brings back fond memories of the islands!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
so simple and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kamor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
the best donut ever you must try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Malasadas are made traditionally in madeira (many portuguese decendents in hawaii are from madeira) with moonshine as a flavoring agent. Sugar is minimal in order to make a more fried-bread rather than sweet confection. Bread is then eaten alone, cinnamon sugar, or sugar cane syrup. This recipe wasn't what I grew up with but very tasty. I did enjoy it and all of you who try it will likely enjoy it too. A nice tweek is to add a bit of nutmeg or/and orange rind. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
These are tasty! But if you're wanting to follow the instructions on shaping them with a thin center, plan on adding more flour and still having it be difficult to work with--this is like a thick batter or VERY loose dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Loved it, I used coconut oil to fry them in just so they aren't quite soooo bad for you. We also shook them in cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States