Malasadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Being from Hawaii this was no way near Leonards famous malasadas...but they were a good doughnut! I would recommend maybe rolling in cinnamon sugar or adding some more sugar to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I just fried some this morning. I made the dough yesterday evening, but I wasn't able to fry them because it was late. I woke up to a seriously risen battter! It was fine though when I fried it. I dropped big teaspoonfuls of batter and fried away. Then I shaked them up in bags, they were great! Will make again! It's a real simple recipe if you just follow the directions with no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamalicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This recipe was perfect! I made them yesterday for Christmas and my family loved them! My grandfather is full Portuguese and he said they were just as good as the ones we get in Hawaii. Honestly no one does them like Hawaii but these were the next best thing! I can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
...I tried these last night and did not care for this recipe! I believe they would taste absolutely wonderful if someone would explain the procedure better. Exactly what consistancy in the batter are we looking for? What kind of blade on the mixer, hook or paddle? Mine was a little thicker then pancake batter and they were oil soaked. I'd love to try them again if someone would share their knowledge and tips like the reader who added more flour and rolled it out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I lived in hawaii in my teens and this reciepe is just like i rememberd. thank you so much. I've been looking for a good malasada reciepe for about 10 years now and i finally found a great one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Nipomo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
These were very good and easy to make. I made some large ones and they did not come out as well, so stick with the size the recipe recommends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryce Gifford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
Oh these were sooooooooo ono.....one of the things i miss about hawaii are these babies at the punahou carnaval........yummy! *shaka*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manoa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
These were good. I never had the traditional ones before. I would also halve the recipe. We ate on them for several days. I would reccommend keeping batter in refrigerator till you are ready to cook. And then only cook what you will eat that day. After the 3rd day they became hard. I made them small so they would cook thoroughly. On some of the bigger ones the center was still a little doughy. The boys did not seem to mind. They said they liked them that way. Thanks for the recipe. I will probably make this recipe again because our boys did like them alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNSCOTT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
Wish this recipe were for a smaller amount! Nevertheless they are onolicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Island Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tahiti, Archipel De La Société, French Polynesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
I give this on 5 stars for flavor. I did add quite a bit more flour to make a rollable dough. After the dough had risen once, I punched it down and divided it into two pieces. Each half I rolled into a rectagle about 1/4 inch thick. I cut each rectangle into squares, places them on parchment lined pans and let them rise again before frying. They were wonderful. We just got back from Hawaii and I was very pleased with the flavor of these. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States