Malasadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
These were good. I never had the traditional ones before. I would also halve the recipe. We ate on them for several days. I would reccommend keeping batter in refrigerator till you are ready to cook. And then only cook what you will eat that day. After the 3rd day they became hard. I made them small so they would cook thoroughly. On some of the bigger ones the center was still a little doughy. The boys did not seem to mind. They said they liked them that way. Thanks for the recipe. I will probably make this recipe again because our boys did like them alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Raegene Mendenhall Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
Wish this recipe were for a smaller amount! Nevertheless they are onolicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Island Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tahiti, Archipel De La Société, French Polynesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2004
I give this on 5 stars for flavor. I did add quite a bit more flour to make a rollable dough. After the dough had risen once, I punched it down and divided it into two pieces. Each half I rolled into a rectagle about 1/4 inch thick. I cut each rectangle into squares, places them on parchment lined pans and let them rise again before frying. They were wonderful. We just got back from Hawaii and I was very pleased with the flavor of these. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyn Schiebel Evans

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2004
Needs a HOT deep fat frier. And didnt come out as sweet as the original hawaiian flavor. Need to experiment with this one to make it better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Belmond, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
I'm sorry to say, these were really awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2003
My mom loved the recipe but me on the other hand thought it was ok. I've been to hawaii and had the famous Leonard's malasadas and these weren't as fluffy. Also anyone planning on making this just remember this is a lot of donuts. Maybe try cutting ingredients in half. But anyways thanks for the sharing the recipe. Overall I would make it again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
This recipe is great, but whatever doesn't get eaten' the day of baking needs to be thrown out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTISONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2003
Onolicious is the perfect word! I used to go to Tex Drive-In all the time for their malasadas, but I've been in Virginia for about 4 years now. Mahalo for sharing this recipe! It brought back memories from the hanabata days in Hilo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAPA_GRRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
These were great!! My 6 yr old ate about a dozen of them when he got home from school. My framers loved them too. I will definitely be making these again. These will definitely go into my favorite file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
Made these for Malasadas Day (Fat Tuesday) and my 8 year old son loved them.It helped us keep a family tradition going now that we live in Texas and can't buy our malasadas. Sooo ONO!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States