Malasadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
This malasada turned out dry and bready and had no flavor. It tasted like day old sandwich bread with sugar on it. I tried under cooking some to see if It was my frying method, but even with a doughy center the surrounding pastry was still dry. My ideal malasada collapses when you crunch into it and is moist and chewy on the inside, that's the malasada recipe I am still looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
These were great! I used the bread-maker to make the dough and stuffed the malasadas with banana's. If you use a bread-maker just put the dry in first make a hole and place the liquid ingredients in put on dough setting and voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I tried this recipe, and had to add almost another two cups of flour to the dough to make it smooth and workable. And then when we did fry the dough, they didn't turn out all that light and fluffy at all, and were pretty dense. So that when we broke them open or bit into them, they were under cooked in the middle, if at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Good recipe. Kids loved it but I found it had too much of a yeast taste to it. Maybe I'll try using only 1/2 the package of yeast next time. Difficult to handle the dough so I ended up dropping spoonfuls into the oil. I found this works better and is easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bdongu22

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
i don't doubt that this is a good recipe, but i'm from hawaii too, and malasadas aren't the only doughnuts we have! you can buy doughnuts in lots of places here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
A little work, but greasy and awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steelydale

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Despite an earlier review, you do not need to throw out any un-eaten treats. These actually freeze very well. Allow them to cool and store them in an airtight container in the freezer. The sugar will melt when you defrost them but they are still just as delicious. I am a first generation Canadian Portuguese and I used to help my mom make these starting at a very young age. Unfortunately she also took the recipe with her when she passed away. Making these made me feel just that much closer to her. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
These are so good I did double the yeast becouse they would not rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Excellent! Tips: open up the first several to make sure you are cooking them long enough all the way through. Under-done will give you dough in the middle, and overdone will have too dark a color and a slightly burnt taste. There is a happy medium. To reach it, you need to drop in a middle-sized piece (not too big to cook through) and watch the color. If it goes dark before it cooks through, reduce the size of malasada and/or lower the temp. Overall, easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renae Sattazahn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Exceptional Recipe. A few additional things omitted. The user who advised using milk on your hands while working with batter was absolutely spot on. The stove to achieve 375 degrees would be medium to medium low depending on stove. lastly let batter sit 12 hours minimum for best consistency. The recipe is spot on. Oh and dont make big ones. The dough will be raw in middle. teaspoon size is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States