Malasadas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Teresa
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Wow!! Fabulous! I grew up having Malasadas during the holidays but never made them before until last night. I followed the reviewers advice and added 1/4 cup more sugar and I did add 1 tsp of vanilla. I let the dough rise 5 hours just because I was not going to make them until later. I used sugar, cinnamon and salt to coat them when finished. They really turned out wonderful! I will make these every year now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This is directed to pieman (most critical helpful review). I have not made this recipe, but I have often made malasadas in Hawaii and the recipe was comparable. You said that yours were "oil-soaked". There is no oil as an ingredient. My conclusion therefore is that you did not pay attention to the temperature of your oil. If it is not hot enough it will not produce the crisp crust that will keep the oil out. It has nothing to do with paddles or blades. The instructions are just fine. You were told the texture you were looking for: "soft smooth dough". You were also told the temperature of the oil: 375 degrees F or 190 degrees C. Perhaps you did not have a candy thermometer and decided to "wing it". That doesn't work. Get a thermometer and try it again. Then you can make a judgment which will be helpful to someone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I love malasadas, and I'm Portuguese, we all grow up with this elephant ears
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth Bennet
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I just tried to make this recipe today,the batter was very sticky, after fried it tasted fluffy. This is a good recipe. But, I am not good at fried things, so my doughnut contain many oil,what a pity, I should use higher temperature to fry them next time. I will try again, because I like the fluffy malasadas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Bennet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
The taste was good. I just made this recipe and here's what I'll do next time: 1) half the recipe--way too much for me and my braddah's family. 2) 375 was way too hot-maybe 325 next time--the first batch was all "koge" (burnt). 3) my dough didn't rise so I placed the bowl in another bowl filled with warm water--next time I'll let it rise, punch it down and let it rise again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I have made these once before with my mom when I was sixteen and they were a great hit with my friends and teachers. I decided to look up the recipe again so I could make then again for my friends in college. I am hoping now that I am older and know how to cook more I will be able to make these by myself this time with not as much trouble as I had the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
It's ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
OMG!! This is just what I've been looking for. After surfing, coming in off the water, there's nothing like a bunch of hot malasadas!!!!! Truly Portugese/Hawaiian brings back fond memories of the islands!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anni Rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
so simple and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kamor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
the best donut ever you must try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beignets

Light, airy and crispy fried dough dusted in confectioners' sugar.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States