Malasadas Dois Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by zigmondo
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
I made these malasadas. They were better than average. I am sure with some practice, they will get even better. The dough was a little soupy, so I added a bit of flour. I could have mis-counted the flour, but I really should be able to count to 8. We only have a half cup measure. I cooked them on the stove in a skillet and in a fry-daddy. The fry dadddy would only hold one at a time, but the temp was perfect 340 degrees. The pan on the stove help 4 at a time but was really hard to keep a constant temp. I used a digital temp probe (sneaky).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
I am from Fall River Mass and these Malasadas are what you find at your Portuguese bakery down the street :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
I ate too many of these, but I do not regret it. I think it would be really good with some lemon or orange zest added to the dough, or perhaps to the sugar used to coat the donuts. Cooking temp is very important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2005
Tried it and I like It. I live at a higher elevation so add a extra 1 1/2cups of flour. dough was sticky but followed Intructions to wet fingures(WORK GOOD) I also let it rise over night in Frig. I fried up about 1/2 the batch and put the left overs in a greased Gal. ziplock bag. in frig. for the next day better the second then the first. Thank you for the recipe. I well make it over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
These turned out just like the way my mom made them. They were eaten up in no time by my husband's family. Thanks so much for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUBYSCOOBY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
These were delicious. I made the dough up early in the morning, with counter-top rising rather than fridge overnight rising. The dough was too thin and sticky to work with by hand, so I just used two spoons to scoop the dough into the oil. I put the remaining dough in the fridge for 24 hours, and the donut consistency the next day was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chula Vista, California, USA
Living In: Bonita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
Made this with my gluten-free flour and they turned out soooo yummy! Definitely time consuming though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGYEAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sewickley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Moon Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
I followed recipe exactly but my dough never thickened enough to knead. It was more like a thick batter. I just dropped spoonfuls into oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
My Portuguese mother made malasadas. Now I can share these wonderful delights with my friends in Ocala, FL. This recipe is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
These come out very light and airy. I like a fried dough that's a little heavier, but my Portuguese grandparents thought they came out perfect. The dough is tricky to work with- it's very soupy. I added 1 cup more flour and it was still the consistancy of pancake batter. Next time I think I'll add some lemon zest to the dough for a little more flavor. All in all, a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States