Makhani Chicken (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
First time I made this at home and it was a 9 out of 10 resturant tastful!! I did add more garam masala and less tomatoe puree. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This recipe was extremely good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This always turns out well - and the chicken melts like butter in your mouth. I never strain the yogurt, seems fine to me. I did try making this with tofu (followed chicken instrux to a T), but it was pretty boring. Won't repeat, even for a veg. crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Simple to make and it is a winner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Yum yum yum!! A delicious butter chicken recipe, everyone loved it. I served it with garlic naan which was great, and with gulab jamun as dessert, everything was a big hit! I used less tomato puree so it didn't overwhelm the indian flavours, and I used a lot less cream, as I thought the yoghurt was enough. I didn't do the "put chicken on skewers" thing as that was too time-consuming, I just put the whole pot of chicken and marinade in the oven for about half an hour which was fine. Before this I had left it in the fridge overnight which made the chicken really nice and tender. Great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This recipe makes an amazing butter chicken. It tastes just like the butter chicken you'll get at a fancy Indian restaurant! The first time I made it, my boyfriend and I ate so much of it that we had to lie down, and we couldn't get up for nearly two hours! Delicious, and super easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
this is an awesome recipe (albeit a little labor intensive)! one of my favorites to cook. i didn't have ginger or garlic paste, so i used powdered ginger & garlic instead & used 1T. extra garam masala (we like a little extra kick). also, i didn't bake the chicken on skewers. i just put it in a covered pot and cooked it first for about 20 min with a little of the tomato sauce. last but not least i omitted the green chili peppers and fenugreek leaves. it turns out just beautiful and super delicious, just like the resturaunts here in seattle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khadija Riegert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seabeck, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
very good, got much praise for this at a dinner party. I made it the day before which might have added more flavour. Will definitely make this again soon. I didn't put the chicken on skewers and I didn't drain the yogurt because I thought it wouldn't make a difference. There was a lot of fluid in the baking dish at the end of the baking and the chicken pieces were sitting in the fluid. I drained the fluid off a bit and then gave it another ten minutes or so in the oven. I thought I had messed it up but in the end I don't think it made a difference, the chicken was very moist and lovely so I think next time I will do it again the same way. I cook curries quite a lot and this one was certainly great!! thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
The first time I made this dish, my boyfriend and I both agreed that it tasted a little bitter. We also thought it tasted better reheated the next day. That said, we still thought it was pretty great. The second time I made it, I cooked it 8 hours before dinner and I cut back on the tomato. My boyfriend thought it was so great, he proposed marriage :) Amazing dish and fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This was extraordinarily delicious. My only regret was that I had to stop eating it for fear I would gain weight. It was hard to stop. The flavors were so wonderful together. I did add extra garam masala because I read that some felt it wasn't very spicy. I love spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States