Makhani Chicken (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Mmmmmm!!! Used 2.5 lbs split breasts. Since I was using bone-in pieces, I doubled all other ingredients EXCEPT tomato puree. Added a dash of curry powder to both marinade & sauce. Used 1 cup of tomato sauce instead of 2 cups tomato puree. Added one can of diced tomatoes in place of the 2nd cup of tomato puree. Forgot to add the cream but didn't notice. Also I now have a lot of extra sauce to use for another meal...darn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I'm a serious Indian cook; my family eats curries all the time. This recipe is awesome and was immediately one of our family favorites! I make extra batches of the sauce and then freeze, making the chicken portion of the recipe as I cook the recipe...cuts down on prep time on school nights! Well worth the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Ok. So i didn't have all of the fresh spices I needed. So as I made it it was a 4 but I bet with fresh ginger and garlic it would be a 5. My hubby said it was WOW! So go for it. I think it would be easiest if I'd done all of the measuring at one time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Much like the butter chicken I've had at several Indian restaurant. Works well even if you don't have time to marinade fully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
As good as any from a restaurant in India. Best recipe I've found so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I'm vegetarian, so this review is from my husband and daughter. Both of them liked the chicken, thought it was very tender and juicy. Husband was hesitant to eat Indian food, as he said it was usually too spicy. When he tried this dish, he said he would like more spices in it next time! Daughter said spices hurt her throat. Too spicy/not spicy enough, sometimes you can't win. Thanks for the interesting dish to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I could not find Fenugreek leaves at all, but the recipe turned out absolutely amazing without it. This is now one of my all time favorite dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by .

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This is tasty but definitely doesnt taste like resturant butter chicken. I didnt do the skewer thing - just cooked chicken cubes in the sauce and served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
I had to tweak the amounts to make less and subbed tomato sauce for fresh but it came out pretty good! Definitely will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States