Makhani Chicken (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This tastes nothing like butter chicken. There is WAY TOO MUCH chili powder used. If I decide to try this recipe again, I'll cut down the chili powder by 1/2 or more. Other then the heat, the recipe is easy to follow, however it does take a fair amount of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This recipe was not only fun to make, it was so good that after we cleared the table, our dinner party guests were crowded around the mostly empty pot in the kitchen, scraping spoonfuls of sauce into their mouths. I used fresh garlic and ginger, and and changed the cooking times a bit to emulate the "next day" effect. I made the red sauce right after putting the chicken in the second marinade, and throughout the day I would heat it up and then let it cool down. When it was time to cook the chicken, I just slapped the whole baking dish with the raw chicken and marinade into the oven for about 20 minutes, and then I scraped it all into the red sauce after that, let that simmer for 20 minutes, added the cream and then let it simmer for another 30 minutes or so, both times without the lid so the sauce thickened up perfectly. Perfect amount of spice as is, even for our group of varying sensitivity - I think the trick is the longer you simmer, the mellower it gets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScavenGypsy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Very good! This recipe makes a ton of sauce so I always make more chicken. A little time consuming but worth the effort- I let the chicken marinate in step two ingredients overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
What a tasty dish! It's well worth the effort. Very close in taste to the Butter Chicken I've had at Indian restaurants. I couldn't find fenugreek leaves in my area, so I used fenugreek seeds instead, crushed, and they worked fine. All the flavors blended nicely, none overpowered the others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Sorry, but I wasn't very impressed with this dish. Too much tomato made the sauce very sour. Additionally, for the flavor that I got out of this dish, there are too many ingredients and too much time to put it all together. Marinading the chicken in the yogurt mixture didn't really add anything spectacular at all either. All-in-all too much effort and too many ingredients made a sour meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This was the first time I ventured to make my favorite dish - butter chicken and it was awesome. My husband raved about its authenticity. As most of the users of this site, I didn't quite follow the recipe, as I was missing a few ingredients. Most notably gram masala (I had to research how to make it as it's not available out here -thankfully I had everything (cinnamon, coriander, cumin, bay leaf and pepper). I used more chicken and replaced tomato puree with paste and 2 cups of water. I added a bit of curry and turmeric (for color) and replaced the fenugreek leaves with cardamon seeds (about 10 or 15 from 4 pods). What really makes this recipe work is the yogurt marinade, a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spacebase

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I am so happy to finally have made an Indian meal at home that actually tastes Indian. I made some modifications: I added about 1/2 tsp of coriander, 1/2 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp turmeric, 1/2 tsp curry powder, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, and 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper to the yogurt marinade. I cooked this in a large saucepan, sauteed a shallot and some white onion in peanut oil, then added the chicken mixture to only 1 cup tomato puree and 1 tbsp honey (nothing else in the third list). I simmered the mix over medium heat for 10 minutes, added 1/4 cup of ground cashews and 1/4 cup more yogurt then simmered for another 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I LOVE Indian food and this recipe turned out exactly the taste I was looking for. I followed the suggestion to use tomato sauce and diced tomatoes in place of the puree and had some wonderful Butter Chicken for dinner. This recipe is now part of my standard collection. Note: For years I wondered what I was doing wrong as my sauces never turned out that gorgeous red/orange - then I learned that they use food coloring!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I've been trying various makhani recipes from the Internet to try and find something that replicates what I get in Indian restaurants in the Pacific Northwest, but I can't say this recipe does. It's way too spicy, even if you skip the chili peppers, which is what I did. Also, it looked nothing like in the picture. The cream made it a very pale red--almost pink. The use of honey was interesting though, that gave it the sweet butter chicken flavour that I'd been looking for (just with way too much spiciness). I might try adapting it or adding honey to other makhani recipes to try and get what I want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States