Makhani Chicken (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was bad and lacked any resemblance to an even mediocre version of real butter chicken. The prep for the chicken in the oven was fine, but the sauce was bad. I think the honey ruined it personally as it was very sweet. WAY too much tomato. In the end, all the nice spices and aromas were masked by too much tomato, too much chili and honey. Such a pity after spending the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This dish was FANTASTIC! I have never made Indian food before, but we go out for it often. It tasted just like what you would get at a restaurant! I read the reviews ahead and took note of "too much" tomato puree so I only added 1 cup and it turned out delicious. Only bummer is I used Minute rice-yuck! Next time I will use Jasmine rice and it should be perfect! Made homemade Naan to go with-turned out great! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This recipe works wonders EVERY single time I make it. My family loves this recipe as much as I do. It takes me longer than 20 minutes to cook through the chicken. After I bake it for about 15 minutes or so, I broil it for another 15. We always compliment it with naan. This dish is very satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was fabulouso. We made this as a family, but we're a bit recipe challenged & impatient, so we ended up NOT marinating the full time (only did about an hour). Also didn't skewer the chicken; just spread it in a large cookie pan lined w/foil & baked, turning once. This tastes just like the Butter Chicken we had in a real Indian restaurant. Simple recipe, & if you can find the fenugreek & garam masala, you've got an out of this world dinner when you serve it over jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I've made this dish twice now and I just can't justify the time. I like it, but it's not my favorite, and it really demands a lot of work, both before marinating and after. I end up really stressing out in the kitchen, which is pretty rare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I loved it! Very bright and flavorful. Just the amount of spice I was looking for, and it really doesn't take THAT long to make. I added extra coriander and cardamom because I love the aroma. All in all, great take on a classic recipe. I will be making again very soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Not very nice! I was very excited about making this recipe as it was from a restaraunt owner, i expected it to taste slightly similar to restaraunt quality.. but i was very disapointed. Too much chilli... not so much that it was too hot, but more that the spice came soley from the chilli it tasted, and wayy too much tomato puree. The sauce when finished looked more like a watered down can of puree than anything else. The meat however cooked very nicely and tasted good, so perhaps i will use the same marinade over a different sauce, but overall this just didnt taste like any curry id eaten before. If you are an ordinary person having doubts about making this then my suggestion is dont bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
i just realized i never rated this. this was oh so good. served over basmati rice with a stuffed hot Indian bread, spinach & chickpeas. a pretty easy dish to put together. will make again. thanks for the post rkozel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This was very good, but I have to agree with a few other people--it was a little too "tomatoey" for my taste. I even cut the amount of sauce down to 1.5 cups and added a little extra cream, and it just wasn't creamy/buttery enough. The chicken itself was surprisingly bland, but the sauce was very good over rice, I'll give it that much. I'll probably make this again, but I'm going to cut the tomato sauce at least in half, maybe more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maurertown, Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This was amazing! I was cooking indian food for the first time and was concerned at how it would come out. I was pleasantly surprised! I marinated the chicken overnight as suggested in another review but then cooked according to the recipe. Will have to do this one again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States