Makhani Chicken (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I have made this 4 times and its great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Captain Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Great Indian Butter Chicken. We couldn't find the fenugreek leaves, but it was delicious. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Karlsruhe, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
A little less tomato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
It was tasty, but a little on the grainy side for me. Especially compared to what I get at local restaurants. So, it didn't really taste like butter chicken but it was still good. I didn't think it took hours of slaving in the kitchen to make though. 10 minutes to cut & marinate the chicken, 5 to mix the yogurt marinade and toss it over the chicken, another 15 to chop garlic, make ginger paste, stir sauce etc. It does take some advanced planning if you want to let it sit in the yogurt overnight, but it was really a lot easier than I was expecting. Still, I'll be trying out other recipes to see if I can find better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This was an absolutely fabulous recipe. Given that I really cut corners and altered it to save time and it still tasted just great, that goes to show how great it could be when done properly. Wasn't spicy at all, but then I didn't have any peppers to put in. My family loved it. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I love this recipe and make it all the time the only difference I use chicken quarters or thighs on the bone I remove skin and fat. I pat butter on them and squeeze juice of lemon on them and sprinkle garam masala and curry on it and add slices of onions and minced garlic and in a mixing bowl I mix the plain yogurt a large can of crushed tomatoes and more garam marsala and also I add fresh ginger grated and pour over chicken and about the last half hour i pour a pint of real whip cream over the chicken and instead of chili powder I add apx. 1/4 t. crushed red pepper. and that's it. I drizzle on honey if desired to take away some of the bitter taste so it's very easy and only really one pan and one bowl and I make oven browned potatoes to serve with it....I can never get enough of this....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Highland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
An extremely delicious meal with the Makhani Chicken, I am not a regular cook and have aspirations to become one of repute, I believe it will be relaxing. I ventured to cooking makhani chicken for my son because he loves it the way his mother makes it, he is 13... but I will tell you a little secrete, we beat mum to a fantastic dish. Highly recommended. The only difference was we made a bone in dish. Kabir
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerath

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
WONDERFUL RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
My husband is from India and incredibly picky about his indian food. My boys love butter chicken at the local restaurants and I have to say this was as good as anything we've had in a restaurant. Wasn't sure about the honey; but it added an amazing flavor! I marinated overnight and think that made the chicken more tender; also broiled it for three minutes after the baking to give it some nice color. Will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crowley, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
you can also just buy a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store and put in the sauce. I think traditionally left over Tandoori chicken was placed in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States