Makhani Chicken (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Delicious, tender chicken and very versatile. I don't feel like I spent hours in the kitchen making this. The time I spent making this was a little more than ususal because I had to make garam masala (we have no Indian stores nearby so I had to combine my own) and I made ghee. But the recipe is really simple...marinate once, dump yogurt and spices in, marinate overnight. Then make the tomato sauce next day whenever you're ready for it. I didn't put so much garlic in it...too much garlic makes me queasy. I could have put more ginger in it though. I used one small can of tomato paste and put in a LOT more honey and cream to smooth over the tomato taste. But it was great, and you really can adjust it to taste, and I made some rice and naan to go with it. Floral and spicy and fragrant. Very tender chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I made this Butter Chicken recipe for a Curry Cook Off Contest! I won 1st place!! Thank You for recipe! Mmm Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Delicious ! I minced fresh garlic and added a small amount of oil to make the garlic paste; did the same thing with fresh ginger root to make ginger paste. For the tomato puree, I used a can of crushed tomatoes, which worked out fine, and I omitted the fenugreek altogether. There's no need to skewer the chicken pieces unless you really want to. Once the chicken has finished in the oven, use a slotted spoon to remove the pieces, and discard the remaining liquid (about a cup). Serve over basmati rice and with naan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This was wonderful! i made it for my mother-in-law who is indian and she said it was really good! scored some points! thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Lots of work, definitely not a weeknight dinner meal. Goes well with either brown rice or pure naan. With the leftovers I had a large amount of sauce so I added some frozen peas and fresh mint. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Koganei, Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Made this for girl scout thinking day. It was a big hit, as several of the girls came back for additional helpings. I used greek yogurt to cut down on the straining time, and as I could not find fenugreek leaves, I used fenugreek powder and it turned out very well. Will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I am a fan of spicy food but this came out to be way too spicy and tart.. I added another spoonful of honey and some more cream and it totally fixed it. If your finding that it's too spicy then please try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I love doing this recipie for company because it is so like the restaurant versions. I do not have fenugreek but I usually double the gram masala.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bebi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
everyone who i have made this for can't wait to come and sample it again... substituting chili paste or sauce for powder brought out an even better flavour and a little more kick!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Excellent. Love it. Just like the Indian Restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States