Makhani Chicken (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
Excellent! If you love to spend hours in the kitchen, this recipe is for you. Great taste, but not so easy or quick to make. I've tried recipes that are just as good, with easier and faster preparation, so I won't be trying this one again. But it is excellent! To the person who "didn't get the taste of butter chicken at all," your name implies that you may be Indian, so maybe you know more about this subject than I do but: welcome to the world of Butter Chicken. I often eat at Indian restaurants and usually order butter chicken (it is my most favourite dish in the world). I have had butter chicken that is mild, spicy, sweet, bland, yellow, orange, red, almost greenish, creamy, not at all creamy, tomatoey, coconutty, with and without nuts and raisins. Such is the variety of butter chicken recipes - it depends on which part of India the chef hails from. Perhaps this recipe did not tickle your fancy, but it IS butter chicken. Marination in yoghurt is the key to tender chicken, the longer you marinate, the better. I always marinate the chicken the night before, or in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
I'm a huge fan of Indian food and go to restaurants around the Bay area all the time. I've always wanted to be able to make my favorite dishes at home, but a lot of the recipes on the internet tasted NOTHING like the chicken Makhani in the restaurants. This recipe was DELICIOUS!! It was actually better than what I've had in restaurants! One note: If you are used to really mild makhani, I'd skip the green chili pepper. Used serrano pepper and it wasn't too spicy but there was definitely a bite. I'll be keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
It just didn't taste like butter chicken at all. However, the next day after refrigerating, the flavors came together and tasted MUCH better. Still NOT butter chicken. Also, I like spicy food and this was way too spicy! So what I would suggest for this recipe is make it a day before and cut down on the chili powder by at least 1/2. If it's not spicy enough for you, you can always add but can never subtract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I'm a serious Indian cook; my family eats curries all the time. This recipe is awesome and was immediately one of our family favorites! I make extra batches of the sauce and then freeze, making the chicken portion of the recipe as I cook the recipe...cuts down on prep time on school nights! Well worth the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Very nice. Good flavor. I used tomato sauce in lieu of "pureed tomatoes", and would have liked the sauce to be a bit thicker. My husband is Indian, and found the flavor to be very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNPATEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This recipe makes an amazing butter chicken. It tastes just like the butter chicken you'll get at a fancy Indian restaurant! The first time I made it, my boyfriend and I ate so much of it that we had to lie down, and we couldn't get up for nearly two hours! Delicious, and super easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Mmmmmm!!! Used 2.5 lbs split breasts. Since I was using bone-in pieces, I doubled all other ingredients EXCEPT tomato puree. Added a dash of curry powder to both marinade & sauce. Used 1 cup of tomato sauce instead of 2 cups tomato puree. Added one can of diced tomatoes in place of the 2nd cup of tomato puree. Forgot to add the cream but didn't notice. Also I now have a lot of extra sauce to use for another meal...darn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
I could not find Fenugreek leaves at all, but the recipe turned out absolutely amazing without it. This is now one of my all time favorite dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
Not bad, but too much tomato puree, which made the taste a bit sour. I also didn't find it spicy enough so I added more garam masala to make it more spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
My husband thought this recipe was great with naan. The flavor is not what I'm looking for so I will continue to search for another Butter Chicken recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baker, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Klang, Selangor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States