Makhani Chicken (Indian Butter Chicken) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
First time I made this at home and it was a 9 out of 10 resturant tastful!! I did add more garam masala and less tomatoe puree. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
This recipe was extremely good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This always turns out well - and the chicken melts like butter in your mouth. I never strain the yogurt, seems fine to me. I did try making this with tofu (followed chicken instrux to a T), but it was pretty boring. Won't repeat, even for a veg. crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Simple to make and it is a winner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Yum yum yum!! A delicious butter chicken recipe, everyone loved it. I served it with garlic naan which was great, and with gulab jamun as dessert, everything was a big hit! I used less tomato puree so it didn't overwhelm the indian flavours, and I used a lot less cream, as I thought the yoghurt was enough. I didn't do the "put chicken on skewers" thing as that was too time-consuming, I just put the whole pot of chicken and marinade in the oven for about half an hour which was fine. Before this I had left it in the fridge overnight which made the chicken really nice and tender. Great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This recipe makes an amazing butter chicken. It tastes just like the butter chicken you'll get at a fancy Indian restaurant! The first time I made it, my boyfriend and I ate so much of it that we had to lie down, and we couldn't get up for nearly two hours! Delicious, and super easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
this is an awesome recipe (albeit a little labor intensive)! one of my favorites to cook. i didn't have ginger or garlic paste, so i used powdered ginger & garlic instead & used 1T. extra garam masala (we like a little extra kick). also, i didn't bake the chicken on skewers. i just put it in a covered pot and cooked it first for about 20 min with a little of the tomato sauce. last but not least i omitted the green chili peppers and fenugreek leaves. it turns out just beautiful and super delicious, just like the resturaunts here in seattle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seabeck, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
very good, got much praise for this at a dinner party. I made it the day before which might have added more flavour. Will definitely make this again soon. I didn't put the chicken on skewers and I didn't drain the yogurt because I thought it wouldn't make a difference. There was a lot of fluid in the baking dish at the end of the baking and the chicken pieces were sitting in the fluid. I drained the fluid off a bit and then gave it another ten minutes or so in the oven. I thought I had messed it up but in the end I don't think it made a difference, the chicken was very moist and lovely so I think next time I will do it again the same way. I cook curries quite a lot and this one was certainly great!! thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
The first time I made this dish, my boyfriend and I both agreed that it tasted a little bitter. We also thought it tasted better reheated the next day. That said, we still thought it was pretty great. The second time I made it, I cooked it 8 hours before dinner and I cut back on the tomato. My boyfriend thought it was so great, he proposed marriage :) Amazing dish and fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This was extraordinarily delicious. My only regret was that I had to stop eating it for fear I would gain weight. It was hard to stop. The flavors were so wonderful together. I did add extra garam masala because I read that some felt it wasn't very spicy. I love spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Makhani Chicken)

See how to make an authentic Indian butter chicken recipe.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States