Makeover Morning Glory Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
We enjoyed these. Just FYI, for others who are not familiar, the batter is really thick and has more fruit/carrots/nuts than muffin...which is fine, I just didn't anticipate it and was afraid I did something wrong when I got ready to bake. Maybe I did, but they were still good! I also only had 12 muffin cups, so I baked the rest of the batter in the bottom of my loaf pan for about 10 extra minutes and cut it into bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I love this kind of muffin! What a great breakfast. I used 3 whole eggs, subbed crushed pineapple for the applesauce. Don't like coconut. Subbed dried apricots for the apple. Used a mix of brown/white sugar. Used a small can of mandarin oranges (pureed) for the orange juice. Subbed cranberries for the raisins. It's a very forgiving recipe. Mine came out so good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Oh, these are fabulous! So tasty and sooooo good for you. I made them even more low fat by subbing apple butter for the oil and reducing the suger by 1/4 cup. I also sprinkled wheat germ on the top. The perfect breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
My youngest boy and I made these together right after dinner. We made two small changes--we cut the sugar back to a half cup and we used my homemade apple butter instead of unsweetened applesauce. Right after spooning the batter into the muffin cups, we sprinkled each muffin mound with 1/4 teaspoon of sugar. Our muffins were done at 20 minutes, a little longer than the recipe stated. We haven't tried them yet but they look and smell AMAZING. Very fun to make. EDITED REVIEW: Four thumbs up from both kids. One of the moistest, chewiest and flavorful muffins we've ever made. The kids thought these were incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I dont think you could wreck these if you tried? I used Craisins, the whole bag....other than that followed the recipe pretty much. I followed someone else's idea of using 3 eggs, and I also substituted the carrots for a can of pumpkin, didn't seem to change or alter the taste. Very good. It's definitely a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
excellent. I make them for my baby all the time. My friend calls me Muffin lady because of these! I use all whole wheat flour, no need for white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCTICAMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I've made this recipe twice now and loved both batches. I've learned I can grind my flax seed in the blender, and it worked well. Also, I shredded the carrot using the fine shredder on my kitchenaid. The first time I used a standard box grater. I liked both ways, but prefer the finer shred. I cut out 1/4 cup sugar because the coconut was sweetened. AND I used corn oil because that's all I had. I like the pecan pieces to be sizeable, about the size of a pencil eraser. First batch made 21 muffins, second made 22. I'm going to get 24 next time to keep calorie count down. For a healthy breakfast I have one muffin, 1/2 cup mandarin orange sections (or 1/2 cup other fresh fruit), and a cup milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
these were the best I've had. wonderful. instead of regular sugar, I used 1/2 cup of brown rice syrup and 2 T maple syrup. I also used 3 t egg replacer plus 2 T water. I didn't use the raisins or apple and increased nuts and coconut to 1 c each. they were absolutely delicious. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
These came out pretty well. I didnt have orange juice, so used apple juice and added some pumpkin also. Also reduced sugar by 1/4c. Next time I will use brown sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
These are absolutely fabulous! To make them slightly more healthy, I did replace the white sugar with honey and since I did not have applesauce on hand, I used one and a half mashed bananas. These were SOOOO moist and yet light and spongy. Perfect texture! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States