Makeover Morning Glory Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
We enjoyed these. Just FYI, for others who are not familiar, the batter is really thick and has more fruit/carrots/nuts than muffin...which is fine, I just didn't anticipate it and was afraid I did something wrong when I got ready to bake. Maybe I did, but they were still good! I also only had 12 muffin cups, so I baked the rest of the batter in the bottom of my loaf pan for about 10 extra minutes and cut it into bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I love this kind of muffin! What a great breakfast. I used 3 whole eggs, subbed crushed pineapple for the applesauce. Don't like coconut. Subbed dried apricots for the apple. Used a mix of brown/white sugar. Used a small can of mandarin oranges (pureed) for the orange juice. Subbed cranberries for the raisins. It's a very forgiving recipe. Mine came out so good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Oh, these are fabulous! So tasty and sooooo good for you. I made them even more low fat by subbing apple butter for the oil and reducing the suger by 1/4 cup. I also sprinkled wheat germ on the top. The perfect breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
My youngest boy and I made these together right after dinner. We made two small changes--we cut the sugar back to a half cup and we used my homemade apple butter instead of unsweetened applesauce. Right after spooning the batter into the muffin cups, we sprinkled each muffin mound with 1/4 teaspoon of sugar. Our muffins were done at 20 minutes, a little longer than the recipe stated. We haven't tried them yet but they look and smell AMAZING. Very fun to make. EDITED REVIEW: Four thumbs up from both kids. One of the moistest, chewiest and flavorful muffins we've ever made. The kids thought these were incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I dont think you could wreck these if you tried? I used Craisins, the whole bag....other than that followed the recipe pretty much. I followed someone else's idea of using 3 eggs, and I also substituted the carrots for a can of pumpkin, didn't seem to change or alter the taste. Very good. It's definitely a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDROSIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
excellent. I make them for my baby all the time. My friend calls me Muffin lady because of these! I use all whole wheat flour, no need for white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCTICAMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I've made this recipe twice now and loved both batches. I've learned I can grind my flax seed in the blender, and it worked well. Also, I shredded the carrot using the fine shredder on my kitchenaid. The first time I used a standard box grater. I liked both ways, but prefer the finer shred. I cut out 1/4 cup sugar because the coconut was sweetened. AND I used corn oil because that's all I had. I like the pecan pieces to be sizeable, about the size of a pencil eraser. First batch made 21 muffins, second made 22. I'm going to get 24 next time to keep calorie count down. For a healthy breakfast I have one muffin, 1/2 cup mandarin orange sections (or 1/2 cup other fresh fruit), and a cup milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
these were the best I've had. wonderful. instead of regular sugar, I used 1/2 cup of brown rice syrup and 2 T maple syrup. I also used 3 t egg replacer plus 2 T water. I didn't use the raisins or apple and increased nuts and coconut to 1 c each. they were absolutely delicious. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
These came out pretty well. I didnt have orange juice, so used apple juice and added some pumpkin also. Also reduced sugar by 1/4c. Next time I will use brown sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
These are absolutely fabulous! To make them slightly more healthy, I did replace the white sugar with honey and since I did not have applesauce on hand, I used one and a half mashed bananas. These were SOOOO moist and yet light and spongy. Perfect texture! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States