Make-Believe Middle Eastern Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
The great thing about this recipe is that it gives you the taste of world cuisine with household ingredients and very easy preparation. My husband and I both enjoyed this meal and we will make it again. The only changes I made were using milk instead of half and half, black pepper instead of white (that's what I had on hand) and adding salt to taste since the recipe did not call for any. I served over rice with some sauteed eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
Make sure your children like spicy dishes because this one I thought was a bit on the spicy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
I wish I could make believe I had eaten this. I made this last night and my five year old took one bite and said it was disgusting. He ended up eating a bowl of cereal for dinner. My very easy to please husband took his first bite and said it tastes like chicken and tomatoes. AND I almost doubled the cumin. (When I asked my husband what he would like for dinner tonight, he said "anything as long as it is not what you made last night.") I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waddell, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2000
Very good with basmati rice. Vegetarian version is use mock chicken recipe using frozen tofu. Can't say how kids like this since all the pups have left the wolf den many moons ago. This was a howling success with my mate. I also used a little more cumin than recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2001
I made this recipe for Valentine's, and it turned out to be a man-pleaser. Since my honey and I both have reflux and can't eat tomatoes, I substituted the stewed tomatoes with frozen mixed vegetables (carrots, broccoli, and cauliflower). I also didn't have allspice, so I used pumpkin pie spice instead, and it worked GREAT! This is definitely something I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2000
This is a very easy recipe and delicious!! Its has just the right amount of spices so even my grandaughter will eat it up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2001
Something didn't work with this--my cream curdled in the tomatoes. The flavors were okay, but not a recipe I'd make again, I'm afraid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2000
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This was the perfect recipe to use up some dairy we had in the fridge. It came together quickly and the flavors were a nice change for us, as our standard flavors are Italian or Mexican. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
Delicious! I only added 1/2 the cumin, because it is a little spicy. I also saute green pepper slices in the oil with the chicken. It adds a really good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearfield, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States