Make-Ahead Vegetarian Moroccan Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I absolutely loved this recipe and I followed it almost to a T, however I did choose to use dried dates rather than apricots because that's what I had on hand . I had no need for any added thickness or corn starch. I just stewed the veggies and lentils down till they were perfect for thickness. I used all organic products and organic chicken broth. I will definitely make this aromatic and flavorful stew again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra McKenzie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Not aure why it says to mix spices in a large bowl. . . . a small one works just fine. Also, finely shredded kale doesn't need to be cooked prior to adding the other ingredients. If anything, it can go in last and only requires about 10 minutes max of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Hickey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
this is one of my favorite meals now! delicious and filling. I have made it in the crock pot, but it does taste different without cooking the spices first. also, I'd add the apricots toward the very end of cooking because the get seems to zap a lot of their flavor. I make this for my husband and I, and we enjoy the leftovers for lunch all week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I love this recipe and make it frequently. Even my picky carnivores love it! I usually freeze half for a meal in minutes during a busy week. It goes great with cornbread and definitely fills you up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Absolutely perfect blend of spices. Be generous with the russet potatoes or white potatoes. Served with warm fresh wheat rolls and butter. May try over quinoa next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Really good . Used all same ingredients but placed everything except kale , spices and onions in the slow cooker. Added these at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Enjoyed over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
The spices are perfect and the apricots and honey really make it. After being on tour and eating nothing but cheap cheese pizza for 3 weeks, this is the first thing I made when i came home. It was glorious and it fed me for a week (AND I froze about 6 cups of it). I added chicken this time and can't wait to impress my boyfriend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie Cotterill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Toya
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I followed this recipe to a tee, adding all of the optional ingredients (the water, corn starch and the black pepper) and didn't really like it. I had my mom and step-dad taste it first and they said it was sweet and I asked them if it needed more spice and more salt. My mom said she doesn't know if it's supposed to be a sweet taste or what, because she wasn't use to it. They said more salt at least. Then I taste it and it was just sweet and they were right. This is why I knocked off a star. So after I finished it, I added another 1 tablespoon of the kosher salt, 1/4 teaspoon of Turmeric, another 1/8 teaspoon of curry, about 3 dashes of cumin (I didn't feel like searching for another measuring spoon), 3 dashes of ginger, and I decided it might need a little more spice, so I added 3 dashes of cayenne pepper. I stired it and they said it taste better. My mom said she liked it and would eat it. She said it was a little thick though., I should have not added the corn starch since the potatoes ended up making it thick after I simmered it for 5 more minutes after adding the corn starch and also I forgot to turn the heat back down when I added the extra seasoning (i just wanted to let it simmer a few more minutes). It's still good though. I added maybe a cup more of vegetable broth, then one more dash of kosher salt. I'm scared that adding more broth will water out the spices. It's kinda thick to me, but good. I might put it over Quinoa to get more protein! I give it 4 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Good recipe, doubled the spices on another users recommendation and doubled the kale. Didn't have curry powder so omitted but it was still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Tortilla Stew

Pinto beans and enchilada sauce star in this simple, meatless tortilla stew.

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States