Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I'm only giving this a 4 but I think it could be a 5 if the directions are changed slightly. I should have followed my gut feeling and reserved the separated fat to make a roux. If I would have done this there would not have been a floury taste. Do this by whisking the flour into the reserved fat over medium until golden, and then whisk back into the strained broth and drippings. I'll have to make my gravy tomorrow with my turkey drippings after all but maybe I can add this floury gravy to it. Hate to waste it but can't serve it the way it taste right now. Excellent concept with minor changes!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
398 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma G

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I was seriously skeptical of any gravy that could hold up for a couple of days and not turn into an icky paste, but this one was awesone and took such a load off of my mind. Gravy at Thanksgiving is always such a stressful, last minute hit or miss and this one takes the worry away and delivers the great taste. The only thing I changed was using turkey legs instead of wings because I think they impart a richer flavor. Thank so much for this recipe!! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This recipe is a life save on Thanksgiving day. The gravy is DELICIOUS and it takes all the guesswork out of making gravy on the big day. You can make it long ahead of time and heat it in a crock pot all day or stovetop. No one will ever guess it isn't pan roasted that day. Add some of the drippings to it before serving & you have the best turkey gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
If I could give this 500 STARS I WOULD 8 - ) I followed as directed almost exactly (scaled in half). I used 2 turkey thighs, a back and roasted whole garlic cloves w/ turkey and added celery to pot- oh herbs de provence instead of thyme. The only real change was as others said - I used some of the "fatty" stuff (the icky but good tasting stuff that floats to the top when it starts to cool) heated in a frying pan an added small abounts of flour at a time and a bit of chicken broth, then transfered to a jar with fitting lid with a more chicken broth and shook the heck out if it to make a thickening - then add that to pot. I did this about 3 times and used the amount of flour the recipe called for and it was not floury tasting at all or lumpy. This was suppose to be my back up gravy in case I had a holiday "melt down" or too much wine ha ha. It was so good that's what I served with dinner! Just pop it in the microwave and pour in the ol' gravy boat! Thank you for saving me the burden of gravy after cooking all day!! I've all ready given this recipe to all my freinds!!!! Cheers!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by secretsmile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Excellent recipe! One less stressful item to have to worry about on Thanksgiving! I made a few changes... I poured the pan drippings into a gravy separator; The non-fat portion of the drippings went in with the simmering wings and broth, and I reserved the separated fat to make a roux. I did this by whisking the flour into the reserved fat over medium until golden, and then whisked in all the strained broth and drippings. No floury taste this way! Very excellent, and freezes well... To defrost, refrigerate for 2 days. Reheat in saucepan, whisking often. Yumm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Yes, this gravy tasted pretty good. However, I only gave it 3 stars because I just don't think the taste was worth all the extra effort. It was nice to have the gravy done ahead of time, but next time I'll just spend the 5-10 minutes after the turkey is done making the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I have used this recipe (but add celery and carrots) and it seems like extra work, but you can make it several days ahead of time and it is the most flavorful, wonderful gravy. You don't have to rush around waiting to get pan drippings from your turkey so it really saves a lot of time at the last minute! You'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This is my 3rd year making this recipe and its great. I don't stress making the gravy after the turkey is taken out of the oven, the problem is, there is never enough turkey gravy for left overs. We all love hot turkey sandwiches the next day, so this solves that problem. I prepare this "ahead gravy" 2 days before and on turkey day I boil the giblets while the turkey is in the oven. When the turkey is cooked and resting I use the roasting pan with the drippings and make a roux, etc, when the gravy is done, I then add half of the make ahead gravy to the pan and heat it up. We now have plenty of turkey gravy for Thanksgiving. The other half of the Make Ahead gravy I freeze for the Christmas turkey dinner, so I get 2 for the work of 1, and never again worry about having enough gravy left over for the day after hot turkey sandwich smothered in gravy. I don't know if anyone feels the way I do but after cooking all this food for a holiday dinner, I don't feel like eating it, so the day after the big dinner everything sounds and tastes great to me, since I am not touching, slicing, chopping, stirring, mixing or smelling the food all day long, not to mention being tired and stressed getting all the food cooked and served hot at the same time for everyone to sit and eat. Nope, the day after is MY DAY and I'm loving that hot turkey sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Delicious and so much less stressful to have it done ahead. My mom, who has sworn by her recipe (also my grandmothers) forever, even took a copy because it was just as good and she wouldn't have so much to do on Thanksgiving Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This is a terrific recipe. I made it just as written and the flavor was exactly right. It reheated beautifully. The one thing I will note is that I cut the recipe down to serve 8 and it produced only about 1 cup of gravy. Next time, I'll simply make it all and freeze the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States