Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Great as written, which is how I did it the first time. Now I us turkey tails instead of wings (more fat=more flavor). I wait until the day I want to use the gravy and skim off the fat, use that to make a roux which I cook long enough to get rid of the raw taste. Then I use the drippings from the turkey aong with the made-ahead broth. My aunt says the gravy is why she looks forward to Thaksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Colton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I would change something for this recipe as well. I use the neck from my bird (which I always brine) so the neck is 'accessed' 2 days before Thanksgiving. Have to admit I use BIG bird so I generally have a large neck to work with. I use the neck plus the onion and add carrot, celery and some garlic all drizzled with just a bit of olive oil and roast before putting it all in the stock pan. There's really no need to add chicken broth because we want TURKEY flavor, right? If I want chicken gravy, this recipe would be fine. Add 6-8 cups water to the pot and let it go for several hours seasoning along the way. The broth should be rather dark in color (if the veggies & neck were roasted enough) and very rich in flavor. Make gravy using this stock and you'll have a great TURKEY gravy rather than mostly chicken flavor gravy. I've actually made this stock and frozen it for later use (like Christmas) when needed too. I'd make the roux with skimmed fat as well as some have said. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt tilly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Excellent flavor, but a lot of trouble. Made exactly as written, so I can't offer any suggestions. This will be made again come Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Great recipe....very tasty. I love making the gravy ahead of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matti Garrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Didn't have much flavor in my opinion. Will try again and adjust rating if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This recipe has saved my turkey dinners. Excellent flavor and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
The secret to a relaxing preparation of the Thanksgiving meal--if that's possible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I've made this several times and my family loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadowlands, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hibbing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This gravy is so tasty. I always use turkey drumsticks instead of wings. The meat turns into a nice little treat that we get to eat the day we make the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Fantastic! I used 2 large turkey backs instead of wings and cornstarch about 3/8 cup, instead of flour and it turned out great!! Refrigerated it overnight and it was delicious for Christmas dinner!! Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States