Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Results: -easy to make -absolutely delicious -tastes warm and robust -never going back to turkey gravy mixes! -time and stress saver Alterations: -recipe scaled down to yield 4 cups I was nervous to make gravy for the first time since my family is not a big fan of turkey, but it was so delicious. I don't think we can ever go back to store bought gravy! We used the leftover gravy to season a turkey leftover soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This is the best tasting gravy ever! I make it ahead of time and just heat and serve - perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
What a great idea to make the turkey gravy before Thanksgiving day! I made this gravy recipe the day before Thanksgiving and also made extra gravy from the Turkey drippings on Thanksgiving day. Everyone loved both the gravies and couldn't tell the difference between which gravy was made ahead of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This is the best gravy I've had! I did modify slightly based on other comments. First change is I bought a package of wings containing 2 large wings, which was plenty and more cost effective. Second, I strained the water and broth as the recipe indicated, but I set it aside. In a heavy bottom large pot, I melted 8 tablespoons of butter and 1/2 cup of flour (equal parts flour and butter) and let that toast for about 1 minute to remove any flour taste. I wisked that into the wonderfully reduced wing liquid. It was rich, smooth and delicious. Thank you to the recipe author for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
My first Thanksgiving dinner for the family. Every one liked this gravy very much... Will keep for long time use. To me it is not complicated to make at all... My persona suggestion, if you have 6 people or less for dinner. May only need half of the ingredients are enough. If you like me don't like left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I think this idea of making turkey broth, BEFORE Thanksgiving is an excellent idea!! I also added garlic powder, onion powder, and poultry seasoning, and I TASTE-TESTED the broth, it to see if it needed a little bit of salt, and then I made the gravy, and slowly cooked it, until the floury taste was gone. WOW, this is a keeper!!, Thank You very Much for this excellent recipe!! I am going to do this for Christmas dinner!! I give this recipe 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cats Cookin' Corner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rosamond, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This is the best gravy. I saved the fat from the top and used cornstarch instead of flour at the end. This is going to save so much time and reduce the stress of making gravy after the turkey is done. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
If you're like me, you're looking at this recipe so you don't have to stress in front of your company about the coveted gravy for Thanksgiving! I made this the Tuesday before and refrigerated. Pretty easy except for the hardest part (at least for me) the dreaded thickening. I tried the flour, it lumped. Then I remembered a trick from my mom, corn starch mixed with cold water then added a bit at a time into the boiling mixture and stir, stir, stir. It worked. I don't think it made enough for 32 servings, hence 4*. And to think I was considering buying the gravy from a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I made this gravey yesterday. This is the best gravey I've ever made. The great thing is that it is perfect when you need a lot of gravey for the crowds, but there is no room in the kitchen for another body.........Grannie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeside, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Great recipe. Very easy. And tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States