Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I have been doing this for years and it always comes out PERFECT!!! I now use a few thighs. I also add carrots and celery, parsley in the stock pot and drain all that before adding the flour. I also add some poultry season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roberta Birdie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Excellent!! Love this idea and the gravy really was very smooth and delicious. I also add a clove or two of garlic while roasting the legs (in place of wings). And I always use corn starch in place of flour in thickening my gravy. The color stays more vibrant and the flavor is more velvety. (I think flour makes gravy taste a bit pasty and it's murky looking.) Try the corn starch and see what you think. A chef gave me this tip years ago and it makes a pretty big difference (for the better!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This made a good gravy. I was looking for a recipe to make ahead for Thanksgiving day. It was time consuming but worth it as I will have the gravy made ahead of time. There was a flour taste to the gravy, but I will mix in some fresh drippings on Thanksgiving day from the juices of the bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I’ve made this type of gravy in the past and it’s very good, I do add a teaspoon or so of poultry seasoning to up the flavor. BUT… when I plan to freeze it, I don’t thicken with flour mixture until ready to use the gravy. In the past I have frozen gravies thickened with flour, with disastrous results. When heating up the gravy it never comes together smoothly, no matter how long or well I whisk it; it always look somewhat curdled. Refrigeration doesn't seem to effect it but if you wish to thickened the gravy and then freeze, use Arrowroot powder mixed with chicken stock. Once added, cook briefly to remove the starchy flavor. Do not overcook or it will thin out again if cooked too long or at too high a temperature. Use less Arrowroot than flour; this recipe calls for 3/4 cup flour or 12 Tbsps.; web searches say 1 Tbsp. plus 1 tsp. Arrowroot per cup of liquid, others say only 1 Tbsp. guess it depends on desired thickness. Your gravy will be less cloudy than gravy thickened with flour; just looks a bit clearer. Gravies and sauces thickened with Arrowroot can be frozen and thawed with impunity and Arrowroot is the most neutral tasting starch thickener. The downside is Arrowroot is pricier, and it's not a good thickener for dairy-based sauces, turns them slimy. Bottom line freeze stock and thicken with flour when ready to use, or use Arrowroot to thicken before freezing. Hope this helps those who had the same disastrous results I’ve had, thawing frozen gravy thickened with flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I've been making this gravy for years and just love it! As a matter of fact, I made a double batch yesterday and froze it so it will be ready for Thanksgiving. Only change I made was to eliminate any water and just use homemade chicken stock. I used 2 turkey wings, 2 turkey drumsticks and a turkey back. Used my blender to mix it smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
The only problem that I found with this gravy is that I didn't make enough of it! I usually serve myself last and found that by the time I got to the gravy, it was nearly all gone. Huge hit with the fam! I will say that the instructions are a bit odd as far as the roux goes. Just mixing the flour with the broth will not get rid of the flour taste; it needs to be cooked out, as with any roux. After cooking down the roasted wings, etc. in the broth using a dutch oven, I pulled the wings out, strained the liquid into another pot, and returned the skin and any fat I could skim off of the surface of the broth to the dutch oven to melt the fat. Once I had melted all of the fat I could, I removed the skin and then began to mix in my flour. I did need to add a little butter as there wasn't quite enough fat for the amount of flour. After the roux became browned, I slowly poured the strained liquid back in, peppered to taste, and cooked until it thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Results: -easy to make -absolutely delicious -tastes warm and robust -never going back to turkey gravy mixes! -time and stress saver Alterations: -recipe scaled down to yield 4 cups I was nervous to make gravy for the first time since my family is not a big fan of turkey, but it was so delicious. I don't think we can ever go back to store bought gravy! We used the leftover gravy to season a turkey leftover soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This is the best tasting gravy ever! I make it ahead of time and just heat and serve - perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
What a great idea to make the turkey gravy before Thanksgiving day! I made this gravy recipe the day before Thanksgiving and also made extra gravy from the Turkey drippings on Thanksgiving day. Everyone loved both the gravies and couldn't tell the difference between which gravy was made ahead of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This is the best gravy I've had! I did modify slightly based on other comments. First change is I bought a package of wings containing 2 large wings, which was plenty and more cost effective. Second, I strained the water and broth as the recipe indicated, but I set it aside. In a heavy bottom large pot, I melted 8 tablespoons of butter and 1/2 cup of flour (equal parts flour and butter) and let that toast for about 1 minute to remove any flour taste. I wisked that into the wonderfully reduced wing liquid. It was rich, smooth and delicious. Thank you to the recipe author for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States