Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was perfect! I made it ahead and froze it for Thanksgiving. On the day, I had forgotten to leave it out ahead of time to defrost, so I heated it slowly over a very low heat. Thought it would get lumpy and I would have to whisk or strain it, but it turned out perfectly and was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Awesome recipe. I used the turkey neck too. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Such a relief to get the gravy done ahead of time and everyone really liked it. Not too greasy like sometimes happens when made with drippings. I used wondra instead of flour and added a little kitchen bouquet to darken the color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was great! My family loves gravy and there never seemed to be enough. With this the only thing I did different was to make the gravy ahead of time thicker and on Thanksgiving when the bird was done add the drippings to the allready made gravy, so I had plenty of gravy to go around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Best gravy ever! I used drums as they were out of wings. Also added some garlic and Balls cajun seasoning. Didn't need to use all the flour, and I used Wondra. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coraopolis, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Ok..i did as some suggested and made a rue with the fat and flour before adding broth. it was just okay, could 've bought canned gravy and had the same tast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was excellent. I made it for Thanksgiving, and this was the first year I had enough gravy for all the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was almost the best part of this year's Thanksgiving feast...no waiting until right before dinner to make the gravy and hope it turns out okay. This is easy, convenient, and SO flavorful! I used four GIANT turkey wings, which seemed to be enough for this recipe. I also took one reviewer's suggestion and made a roux with the butter, flour, and some of the chicken stock and added it at the end. I made it first thing in the morning, and kept it hot in a crock pot until our mid-day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Perfect! Followed directions exactly and it came out perfect - i will use this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Wonderful addition to my Thanksgiving dinner. This took off all of the pressure off right before serving dinner. Also, it was perfect because one of our turkeys was deep-fried so we didnt' have "drippings". This is the best make-ahead gravy recipe that I have tried and will be a staple in the years ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States