Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Time consuming, but easy to make and well worth it! I did do a few different things, I seasoned the turkey wings before roasting and roasted carrots and celery along with the onions. I also substituted chardonnay for the water. The aroma in my kitchen was just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Hands down the best gravy ever. I cant believe i made it. Got huge browny points with the wife
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Gravy turned out well, but it took hours to finish. Not at all certain it is worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I am trying this now. After cooking the turkey parts with the onions (and a tossed a little Herb de Provence on top), I added everything to the crock pot to cook slowly for 4 hrs. Smells great. It seems very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I just finished making this gravy. Yummy and full of flavor. I only gave it four stars because I altered it a little so can't rate the actual recipe. I used legs and thighs instead of wings. I was lucky enough to find turkey stock and used that instead of chicken. I also took the advice of one of the other poster and combined the skimmed fat with the flour and cooked it with the two remaining cups of turkey stock. When finished, added a little morethyme, some ground sage and salted to taste. It seems like a lot of work but it isn't really, just takes time more than anything. Having this done ahead of time will really take the stress off on turkey day. My only concern is will it still be thick the day of serving? I'll let you know. This is a keeper and I will make again assuming it doesn't turn to water when reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
One more thing that doesn't have to be made on Thanksgiving day...hooray! I was pleasantly surprised at how well this turned out. There were some reviewers who said this tasted like chicken gravy, so I opted to use turkey broth (available in those quart boxes). I'm doing a recipe this year that calls for boneless turkey breasts, so when the butcher boned the breasts, he gave me the turkey bones. I cooked the bones with the broth, which I believe enhanced the turkey flavor. I also made a roux before adding the broth, so that eliminated any flour flavor you would have by just adding flour to the broth. And the side benefit--I now have enough meat picked from the wings for a nice pre-Thanksgiving casserole tomorrow night! Winner in my book and going into my Favorites folder. Thanks Sue for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Great as written, which is how I did it the first time. Now I us turkey tails instead of wings (more fat=more flavor). I wait until the day I want to use the gravy and skim off the fat, use that to make a roux which I cook long enough to get rid of the raw taste. Then I use the drippings from the turkey aong with the made-ahead broth. My aunt says the gravy is why she looks forward to Thaksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Colton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I would change something for this recipe as well. I use the neck from my bird (which I always brine) so the neck is 'accessed' 2 days before Thanksgiving. Have to admit I use BIG bird so I generally have a large neck to work with. I use the neck plus the onion and add carrot, celery and some garlic all drizzled with just a bit of olive oil and roast before putting it all in the stock pan. There's really no need to add chicken broth because we want TURKEY flavor, right? If I want chicken gravy, this recipe would be fine. Add 6-8 cups water to the pot and let it go for several hours seasoning along the way. The broth should be rather dark in color (if the veggies & neck were roasted enough) and very rich in flavor. Make gravy using this stock and you'll have a great TURKEY gravy rather than mostly chicken flavor gravy. I've actually made this stock and frozen it for later use (like Christmas) when needed too. I'd make the roux with skimmed fat as well as some have said. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt tilly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Excellent flavor, but a lot of trouble. Made exactly as written, so I can't offer any suggestions. This will be made again come Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Great recipe....very tasty. I love making the gravy ahead of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matti Garrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States