Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Gravy was good but not exceptional in light of all the work is was to prepare ahead of time. I prefer cornstarch base to the flour, this seemed a bit heavy to me. I think I spent more effort making gravy than baking the turkey. Next time I will go back to my pan-drippings and make the usual gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GULFTRADE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moses Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Amazing!!! Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Excellent, since now on, I am in charge of the family gravy.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This is amazing! I will never make turkey gravy any other way. It takes extra planning and time a few days ahead, but was so worth it not to be making gravy at the last second. I used 3 large turkey legs because thats what the store had. I seasoned them a little before roasting, and drizzled with olive oil. I added celery to the pot when boiling as well. I followed other reviews, and took the broth after cooking, allowed to set up in the fridge, and then removed the fat from the top. I used the fat as well as a little butter to create a roux with the flour and then slowly added the broth to it. I was afraid it wouldn't reheat well 2 days later, but it was perfect! My husband suggested next time I add the meat from the turkey legs to the gravy as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
If I could give this recipe ten stars I would! This was hands down the best gravy I have ever tasted. This was my first attempt at making gravy and it was a homerun! I followed the recipe to a t, except I used Wondra flour instead of regular flour. Wondra flour makes gravies and sauces really smooth. My boyfriends mother tasted it as it was reheated and proclaimed it divine, then demanded the recipe. I made this two days in advance of Thanksgiving and just kept it in the fridge. It reheated beautifully. This will be my Thanksgiving recipe for the rest of my life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This is hands down the best gravy I have ever tasted. It was so nice being able to prepare it the day before and not having that last minute stress on Thanksgiving day. This year we fried two turkeys in the deep fryer outside so this is a great recipe to go with that since you don't end up with any nice drippings from roasting a turkey in the oven. DEFINITELY will make this every year!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Time consuming, but definitely worth it! Got rave reviews on this at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I have made this gravy for the past three Thanksgivings. It is DELICIOUS! I find that using chicken wings and a couple of chicken thighs gives it the best flavor. I make it thick enough so I can thin it with some of the pan drippings from the turkey (I use wine & butter to baste my turkey). I will never leave gravy until the last minute again!! I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milo, Maine, USA
Living In: Bowdoinham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
If I could give this recipe more stars, I would! So easy and the end product was simply awesome! I did leave out the carrots because I think they tend to make recipes too sweet. Thank You SUE1956, for this fabulous gravy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Foresthill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I made this gravy for Thanksgiving Dinner this year and it was the best gravy I've ever had! I followed some of the suggestions from other reviewers. I used 2 wings and 2 legs to make the gravy base but didn't thicken it right away. After I took my turkey out of the oven, I separated the fat from the browned bits in the bottom of the pan and used a bit of the fat to create a roux. To the roux, I added the browned bits from the bottom of the pan and very slowly added the gravy base (with the fat removed) from this recipe until I had the consistency I wanted. I will definitely use this method when I make gravy! Thanks for taking the stress out of holiday gravy making!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States