Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Very Salty and I did not get 8 cups. I think If I try this again I would use low sodium chicken broth and use less broth and more water.I added a potato to remove some of the salt, it helped a bit. I froze this and I am planning on adding a jar of Heinz gravy to improve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Exceptional as original recipe. Next time I'll add spices as others suggested. But is very good on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint-Antoine, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Good Heavens! This gravy is exceptional. DH is a turkey hunter. The wild birds have zero fat and therefore no gravy. I decided to give this a try and the results were fantastic. This smooth, flavorful gravy made the house smell divine. True turkey taste and easy to make. After straining the contents of the stock pot in step 3 I let the liquid cool and froze it. When DH got his bird I pulled it from the freezer, thawed and then continued with step 4. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
What a great idea!!! No scrambling at the last minute to make the gravy. Followed the recipe as is and enjoyed GREAT gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Sub a little of the water for white wine. Add 1 head of garlic (peeled & cut horizontally in half), diced onions, diced celery & whole pepper corns when simmering on the stove up to 5 hours. To eliminate floury taste, reserve separated fat & whisk into flour over medium heat until golden. Add roux to broth, bring to a boil & simmer until reduced to desired thickness. Makes 2 cups. I increase volume & enhance flavour by adding water or chicken broth to scrape roast pan bits & add to make-ahead gravy. This served leftovers for a 25 lb. turkey. Thanks Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Great recipe for Thanksgiving gravy! I used the turkey giblets for the meat, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
5 stars because it was AWESOME. I would give it 3 stars though if I had to take into consideration effort and time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liannas Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Ended up using chicken legs because I couldn't find turkey ones at the store, and it turned out great. It was wonderful not to have to fool with making gravy when cooking everything else on Thanksgiving day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Excellent recipe and yummy gravy! It was so nice to have this done ahead of time and it makes lots. I couldn't get turkey wings so I used a turkey "hind quarter" piece (leg/thigh/etc) and I forgot to put the onions in the oven with it so those were added to the broth step. It was great and so smooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
It was perfect make ahead, took a ton of stress off of the day. I did make a roux using the butter and fat from the turkey and the flour. I added to it from the drippings from the day and it was perfect, it was perfect way to make sure I had enough gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States