Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Great Gravy! I cooked this the Saturday before Thanksgiving and froze it until Weds. I followed recipe as directed, but used 2 very large turkey wings, it came out perfect. When unfreezing I put in the crock pot on low for a few hours. It will appear lumpy, but a quick wisk will fix that immediately. Taste was just like out of a jar/packet, but better. Nothing fancy-very simple, just great gravy and it got rave reviews. Worth the time if you're poking around the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNTONE6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This recipe is amazing. Followed other's suggestions to make a rue with the fat from the turkey stock. Amazing flavor and one less thing to worry about tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Sue, thank you so much for this recipe. I've just finished making my gravey and it turned out wonderful. This is the 2nd year in a row, and this time I decided to double it. I figured since I was going through the steps, I might as well, now I have plenty for tomorrow, and some to freeze for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I made this last night for our dinner tomorrow, it is absolutely awesome. The only thing I did different was I used 3 wings and 3 thighs. The house already smells like thanksgiving. Thanks for sharing this amazing recipe...Happy Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob & Kara's Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
delicious! I made as directed, only I used the remains of a chicken we had for dinner the night before and threw in a bit of fresh sage and a bay leaf. Easy to make and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I followed the recipe with a few tweeks, based on a comments by others. I created a rue with the turkey drippings and flour before incorporating this into the broth. The gravy looked good but tasted like flour. No flavor. My suggestions to others would be to season the turkey before baking it. Also, adding a packet of dry turkey gravy mix to the broth might help. This was too much work for the resluts. Will not try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This is seriously the best turkey gravy I've ever had! It's kind of a pain to make, but it is definitely worth it to have it done ahead of time!!!! SOOOOO YUMMMMMYYYYYY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Had to use other turkey parts in additioin to wings. Worked fine. Cooking time listed is a little off, It takes way more than 2.5 hours, but is worth it to have done ahead of time. I deglazed the pan with chardonay instead of water and seasoned the turkey parts with poultry seasoning before roasting. Also added two stalks cut up celery for the simmering part of the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I just got done making this and had to rush to the computer to write this review, because it was AWESOME!!! So delicious... I will most definately be making this every year! I used 3 turkey legs instead of the wings, and before roasting them I drizzled them (and the onions) with a little oil and sprinkled with salt and pepper. I also added two celery stalks and all the cloves from a bulb of garlic (peeled) to the simmering step. After the final step of adding the butter and pepper, I sieved the gravy through a mesh sieve to achieve a silky, smooth gravy. Perfection! The final result yielded 5 cups of yummy gravy! Can't wait to pour it over all my Thanksgiving goodies! Thank you for this stellar recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Maroa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
SAVE THE SKIMMED FAT AND MAKE A ROUX!!! You will not regret it. I actually moaned when I tasted this gravy last year. It is delicious. I froze mine then warmed it in a crock pot on Turkey Day. I got many, many compliments. Thank you, SUE1956! You made me look good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States