Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Wow, finished this gravy today, and it is fantastic. I'm storing it in big jars in the fridge until Thursday. I did do a couple of things differently, though, and thought it might be helpful to share. I had a large package of chicken thighs in the freezer that I had gotten on sale, and decided to substitute these for the turkey wings. They worked great. I used a good quality powdered chicken broth instead of canned broth. I also added 1 tablespoon of salt to the finished gravy...I thought it needed it. After roasting the chicken & onions, I used my large stockpot with a pasta insert for the next step. I put the chicken & onions and other veggies into the pasta insert, and of course, the broth went over top of it. When it was time to take the chicken/veggies out, drain and press out the liquid, it was a snap having used this pot. Also, since I used chicken thighs, there was plenty of useable meat. I boned the chicken and put all the meat an vegetables into a casserole for supper tonight, along with some noodles and a cup of the homemade gravy, mixed with 1 can of cream of chicken soup. Tastes great! AND I have fantastic gravy ready to heat up on Thursday. I'll be doing this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIGERBER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sterling, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I made 32 servings and it is perfect. We deep fry our turkey; hence, no gravy. This is a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
thanks for this recipe, sue! i usually smoke my turkey, so this works out wonderfully...very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Excellent recipe! One less stressful item to have to worry about on Thanksgiving! I made a few changes... I poured the pan drippings into a gravy separator; The non-fat portion of the drippings went in with the simmering wings and broth, and I reserved the separated fat to make a roux. I did this by whisking the flour into the reserved fat over medium until golden, and then whisked in all the strained broth and drippings. No floury taste this way! Very excellent, and freezes well... To defrost, refrigerate for 2 days. Reheat in saucepan, whisking often. Yumm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I just finished making a 1/2 recipe. The flavor is wonderful. It's great to have the gravy already done and soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Worked great - I had chicken wings and legs on hand so that is what I used. I also used home made stock instead of canned and what a taste difference it made! I will use this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I LOVE this recipe! I made this gravy two days before Thanksgiving and it was excellent. I am going to cook my turkey carcass with the same method and make another batch to freeze for my New Year's Day meal.Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Johns, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This takes a long time to make. I was almost hoping it would be a flop because of the time factor. But, it turned out great and will be the gravy recipe I use from now on. A nice, basic gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This recipe is great for reducing the last minute rush to get everything done for the Thanksgiving meal. I halved the recipe, using 3 turkey legs instead of wings. It does take a long time to make, but, I was making other dishes anyway a day ahead so it was no big deal. My mom wants to modify it for beef for Christmas! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
If I could give this 500 STARS I WOULD 8 - ) I followed as directed almost exactly (scaled in half). I used 2 turkey thighs, a back and roasted whole garlic cloves w/ turkey and added celery to pot- oh herbs de provence instead of thyme. The only real change was as others said - I used some of the "fatty" stuff (the icky but good tasting stuff that floats to the top when it starts to cool) heated in a frying pan an added small abounts of flour at a time and a bit of chicken broth, then transfered to a jar with fitting lid with a more chicken broth and shook the heck out if it to make a thickening - then add that to pot. I did this about 3 times and used the amount of flour the recipe called for and it was not floury tasting at all or lumpy. This was suppose to be my back up gravy in case I had a holiday "melt down" or too much wine ha ha. It was so good that's what I served with dinner! Just pop it in the microwave and pour in the ol' gravy boat! Thank you for saving me the burden of gravy after cooking all day!! I've all ready given this recipe to all my freinds!!!! Cheers!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by secretsmile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States