Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I followed the recipe with a few tweeks, based on a comments by others. I created a rue with the turkey drippings and flour before incorporating this into the broth. The gravy looked good but tasted like flour. No flavor. My suggestions to others would be to season the turkey before baking it. Also, adding a packet of dry turkey gravy mix to the broth might help. This was too much work for the resluts. Will not try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This is seriously the best turkey gravy I've ever had! It's kind of a pain to make, but it is definitely worth it to have it done ahead of time!!!! SOOOOO YUMMMMMYYYYYY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Had to use other turkey parts in additioin to wings. Worked fine. Cooking time listed is a little off, It takes way more than 2.5 hours, but is worth it to have done ahead of time. I deglazed the pan with chardonay instead of water and seasoned the turkey parts with poultry seasoning before roasting. Also added two stalks cut up celery for the simmering part of the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I just got done making this and had to rush to the computer to write this review, because it was AWESOME!!! So delicious... I will most definately be making this every year! I used 3 turkey legs instead of the wings, and before roasting them I drizzled them (and the onions) with a little oil and sprinkled with salt and pepper. I also added two celery stalks and all the cloves from a bulb of garlic (peeled) to the simmering step. After the final step of adding the butter and pepper, I sieved the gravy through a mesh sieve to achieve a silky, smooth gravy. Perfection! The final result yielded 5 cups of yummy gravy! Can't wait to pour it over all my Thanksgiving goodies! Thank you for this stellar recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Maroa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
SAVE THE SKIMMED FAT AND MAKE A ROUX!!! You will not regret it. I actually moaned when I tasted this gravy last year. It is delicious. I froze mine then warmed it in a crock pot on Turkey Day. I got many, many compliments. Thank you, SUE1956! You made me look good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This is my 3rd year making this recipe and its great. I don't stress making the gravy after the turkey is taken out of the oven, the problem is, there is never enough turkey gravy for left overs. We all love hot turkey sandwiches the next day, so this solves that problem. I prepare this "ahead gravy" 2 days before and on turkey day I boil the giblets while the turkey is in the oven. When the turkey is cooked and resting I use the roasting pan with the drippings and make a roux, etc, when the gravy is done, I then add half of the make ahead gravy to the pan and heat it up. We now have plenty of turkey gravy for Thanksgiving. The other half of the Make Ahead gravy I freeze for the Christmas turkey dinner, so I get 2 for the work of 1, and never again worry about having enough gravy left over for the day after hot turkey sandwich smothered in gravy. I don't know if anyone feels the way I do but after cooking all this food for a holiday dinner, I don't feel like eating it, so the day after the big dinner everything sounds and tastes great to me, since I am not touching, slicing, chopping, stirring, mixing or smelling the food all day long, not to mention being tired and stressed getting all the food cooked and served hot at the same time for everyone to sit and eat. Nope, the day after is MY DAY and I'm loving that hot turkey sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Just made this today to freeze for next weeks Thanksgiving dinner. Like others, I couldn't find turkey wings so I used 3 turkey drumsticks and a package of chicken wings. When I chilled this to skim off the fat it was more like a gelatin (did I do something wrong?). Anyway, I went ahead and added some butter to what fat I could scrape off the top of the stock. I cooked the flour before adding the additional broth. It is pretty tasty, but I felt it needed a little something so I added a bit of poultry seasoning and a little more thyme along with salt and pepper. I plan to freeze this and HOPE it comes out good on Thanksgiving day! I will try to add some pan drippings from my turkey that day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi2Five

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
this is excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tecumseh, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Belle River, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This kicks heinie! For those of you that think it's too time consuming, it takes a few minutes more than making a good brown poulty stock & is well worth it. I'm sure you could make chicken gravy this way too & you'd always have it on hand when you need it. Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU! Love it! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States