Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 21, 2012
What a great idea!!! No scrambling at the last minute to make the gravy. Followed the recipe as is and enjoyed GREAT gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Sub a little of the water for white wine. Add 1 head of garlic (peeled & cut horizontally in half), diced onions, diced celery & whole pepper corns when simmering on the stove up to 5 hours. To eliminate floury taste, reserve separated fat & whisk into flour over medium heat until golden. Add roux to broth, bring to a boil & simmer until reduced to desired thickness. Makes 2 cups. I increase volume & enhance flavour by adding water or chicken broth to scrape roast pan bits & add to make-ahead gravy. This served leftovers for a 25 lb. turkey. Thanks Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Great recipe for Thanksgiving gravy! I used the turkey giblets for the meat, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
5 stars because it was AWESOME. I would give it 3 stars though if I had to take into consideration effort and time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liannas Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Ended up using chicken legs because I couldn't find turkey ones at the store, and it turned out great. It was wonderful not to have to fool with making gravy when cooking everything else on Thanksgiving day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Excellent recipe and yummy gravy! It was so nice to have this done ahead of time and it makes lots. I couldn't get turkey wings so I used a turkey "hind quarter" piece (leg/thigh/etc) and I forgot to put the onions in the oven with it so those were added to the broth step. It was great and so smooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
It was perfect make ahead, took a ton of stress off of the day. I did make a roux using the butter and fat from the turkey and the flour. I added to it from the drippings from the day and it was perfect, it was perfect way to make sure I had enough gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Gravy was good but not exceptional in light of all the work is was to prepare ahead of time. I prefer cornstarch base to the flour, this seemed a bit heavy to me. I think I spent more effort making gravy than baking the turkey. Next time I will go back to my pan-drippings and make the usual gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GULFTRADE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moses Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Amazing!!! Thank you for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Excellent, since now on, I am in charge of the family gravy.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States