Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Came out perfect, great time saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bostoncook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This gravy was absolutely amazing! This was my first Thanksgiving cooking dinner for my fiance's family so I was a bit nervous to wait until the last 5 minutes to make gravy. At least this way I could taste it and make sure it would be a hit, and it was. I was a bit concerned when I went to heat it up and it looked like a big blob of nasty, but it thinned out to perfection after a few minutes. I would recommend like other reviewers to stick with the portion of the recipe as-is, I think the servings are very small as listed. I was feeding 5 people, made the recipe for 10 servings, and ended up with about a cup of gravy. Ended up having to go back and make another batch, but even after that hassle I know I will be going back to this recipe in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I have NEVER had a more tasteful and delicious Thanksgiving turkey dinner because of this AMAZING gravy recipe!!!! Added all my 'day of' drippings, and I am still in awe... everyone raved about it and the fact that I made it the day before was just brilliant! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I only had 4 turkey wings but kept everything else the same. The process is long but worth it. Excellent homemade gravy! I added giblets with the carrots. This made plenty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Everyone LOVED this gravy. It is a bit time consuming but worth the effort. Curious to see if freezing it alters the flavor at all. I just emailed this recipe to two family members since they loved it so much ! We used homemade chicken stock instead of store bought. WORTH THE EFFORT !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Unreal. Best gravy I have ever made. It took all day two days before. Used 6 turkey legs from the meat section at Walmart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I was so happy to find this recipe after realizing that being our first year deep-frying the turkey we'd have no drippings for gravy! Ran to the store & found turkey necks very cheap. Used those along with some homemade chicken stock I had in the freezer. Added a couple ribs of celery to the roasting process & other than the above changes stuck to the rest of the recipe & instructions. Added plenty of pepper to taste (& a few fresh basil leaves I had leftover) & this was just some fantastic gravy that our meal would not have been complete without!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Been making this gravy for years now. Started making 'make ahead' dishes for my Thanksgiving meal back when I had to work on the holiday (nurse). That way when I came home we were ready to eat! This gravy is exceptional! My family loves it. You get so much creamy smooth, flavorful, beautifully colored gravy. I follow the recipe exactly as written. I honestly can't say enough about how much I love this gravy! Now that I'm retired I still 'make ahead' this gravy, my mashed potatoes, my cranberries, sweet potatoes, and corn casserole! That way when my family comes I can enjoy them because I'm not running around in the kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Very Salty and I did not get 8 cups. I think If I try this again I would use low sodium chicken broth and use less broth and more water.I added a potato to remove some of the salt, it helped a bit. I froze this and I am planning on adding a jar of Heinz gravy to improve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Exceptional as original recipe. Next time I'll add spices as others suggested. But is very good on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Antoinette Bourque
Home Town: Saint-Antoine, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 236) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States