Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was very good, just add more seasoning, like poultry seasoning and lots of salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This gravy was delicious and very nice to have done ahead of time before Thanksgiving. However, if you are someone who knows how to make gravy, it probably doesn't make much sense to go to the added trouble this recipe requires. I do not know how to make gravy, so for me, it was great. It is a bit of a project, though, since you have to cook the turkey just for this. I used wings and legs and used the meat for the turkey soup recipe from this site. The gravy and the soup were both delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
As the turkey was cooking this Thanksgiving, I decided to make this gravy so I didn't have to do it after the turkey was done. This made it so much easier. I added a celery stalk (including leaves) and two diced carrots. I used 6 turkey wings and accidentally put all 4 cans of broth in at the beginning. I also added 1/4 cup Burgundy wine because that's what I had on hand - next time I'll up it to 1/2 cups. When the pot was done with the simmering, I added another can PLUS I added the separated drippings from the turkey when it came out of the oven. The consistency was perfect. I still didn't have enough gravy, it was so good. I had 15 adults over for dinner - they all liked the gravy but my sisters said "MORE GRAVY" ... so next time, I'm adding more broth. There was plenty of flavor to support more broth, no problem. Great recipe - thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This is a tasty gravy and it's great to have one less chore to do on the big day, but it takes a sweet forever to make! It's well and good if making it is part of your holiday ritual, but if you aren't mentally prepared to be in some special gravy-making Zen-like state, you will likely be very annoyed to be spending hours making a dish that would take you take you 15 minutes if you were doing it T'giving Day. But it's tasty, and if you're serving a crowd, guarantees you'll have enough. Mine was thin but I could've thickened it easily by adding a little cornstarch dissoved in cold water. Nobody seemed to mind. It makes a ton, so freeze it in two containers & you'll be set for two holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
excellent gravy. so nice having it done the day before and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
WOW! This was absolutely FANTASTIC! I used 3 turkey legs and 2 turkey wings. I lightly oiled the legs and baked per the directions. I omitted the carrots as I am not a fan of the taste of cooked carrots. I added the fat reserve to the chicken broth and flour and I really think that was the icing on the cake. I don't think it would have been as good if I hadn't done that. This is absolutely the best gravy recipe I've ever used. I will do this every year from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
MADE THIS FOR THANKSGIVING & FOUND IT TO BE VERY GOOD. I HAD 3 TURKEY LEGS ON HAND AND USED THEM INSTEAD OF THE WINGS. NEXT TIME I WILL USE WINGS AS I REALLY WANT TO SEE IF THE WINGS ARE BETTER---OR NOT. BUT I WAS VERY HAPPY THAT THE LEGS GAVE ME MEAT TO CHOP UP TO PUT IN THE DRESSING. IN ANY EVENT, THIS IS A KEEPER. PEGGY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Can't imagine ever making gravy at the last stressful moment again! Yes it was a bit of an effort but entirely worth it and can be made days ahead and refrigerated. Added cooked and chopped giblets from the turkey. Servings indicate 32, but more like 16 which was a good thing since I was serving 8. Then again, if you have lots left over, just freeze. I used 3 large turkey legs instead of 6 wings as that was what was available at the store. Excellent advice from a reviewer who advised to use a pasta pot and press the veggies with a potato masher. Made for lots less cleanup. Also added 3-4 ribs of celery for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I followed this recipe (with the exception of using turkey legs instead of wings) up to step 4. At that point, I saved the broth and meat for my noodles and froze them separately. Wow, this makes the best noodle broth ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Effingham, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Man oh man! This is one great recipe! This year for Thanksgiving I'm making everything from scratch. Every minute spent making this is well worth it - thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BP3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States