Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I made this yesterday, and finished it today ... a bit of work, but well worth the end result! It tastes delicious, and my gravy is all done for the big day! The only thing I did differently, was after straining the broth, I refrigerated it overnight, making removal of the fat simpler. Definitely 5 stars, and I will make this again. Thanks for this time saving recipe! ♥
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmwood Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cary, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Just finished making the gravy and it is fabulous. I have refrigerated it and will heat it up in the crock pot tomorrow. Can't wait to hear all the compliments. I did use some of the bones from deboning the turkey. I saved all the giblets, carrots and onions for turkey soup. This far better than rushing around just before sitting down to dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Lots of great elements here, but in New Orlean's we'd change a few thins. 1st, we always start with a roux instead of belnding in uncooked flour. Try for the color of peanut butter or darker, and if possible use rendered turkey fat as the oil. After the roux is ready, add minced onion, garlic and celery along with spices such as puoltry seasoning, sage, thyme, or savory. When veggies are wilted, add the stock, bring to a rolling boil and reduce until thick. After you cook the turker, add the pan juices and bring to desired consistency by reducing on stove or adding more stock to your taste. I use a stock, rather than a broth, using the turkey necks, old veggie and poultry trimmings I've saved in the freezer as well as any combination of carrots, turnips, rutabegas, or yams. I simmer it (one bubble every 2 or 3 seconds) at least overnight (I have electric--wouldn't do this on gas) and strain as directed in recipe. This yields a strong, dark, flavorful stock. Another option is to add the neck meat and chopped giblets if you like a giblet gravy. It's really not as much work as it seems, and the flavor intensification is incredible. Kudos aplenty for roasting your stock ingredients and "Bon chance" (good luck)! Laissez les bon temps roulle (Let the good times roll)!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Just finished making this right now. Delicious. Tastes just as good as anything I've made in the past with NO STRESS. I did add about 1 tsp of garlic, and a few shakes of garlic salt. Kept the fat too. Absolutely divine and a huge relief for the big day. Try this -- you'll be glad you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Absolutely out of this world gravy! I couldn't stop eating it after I made it :) It really saves a lot of stress from the big turkey day. To avoid any lumps in your gravy, completely dissolve the flour into the soup mixture before you start adding it into your turkey stock. Also you can use a fine mesh strainer at the end of the process to get a completely smooth finish. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone, it's an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I just found this recipe TODAY and I made it...ITS THE BEST GRAVY I'VE EVER MADE IN MY LIFE!!! Takes a little time, but is so worth it! I had to use poultry seasoning instead of the thyme. One less thing to do on Thanksgiving! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Driscoll

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
The taste is very good. I did make the roux as many others suggested. I also put pieces of the turkey in the gravy for "authenticity". This is a fabulous solution for the "big holiday". However, it is very time consuming. I did not stray from the ingredients listed. I did have to use 6 turkey legs as that's what was available at the store. This gravy takes just as long as cooking a whole Turkey on Thanksgiving. But I will say, it takes alot of stress out of an already stressful situation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Excellent! Making the gravy a day or two ahead of time eliminated soooooooooooo much time and stress on Thanksgiving day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katieo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I cut this recipe down by half, and still had plenty. No one could believe it was homemade. They thought I had bought itl I put some of the turkey wings into the gravy! This is time consuming, but worth every minute. Next time I will make the whole batch and freeze what I don't use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARILYNJ100

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Indiana, USA
Living In: Gray, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I made this recipe last year for the first time. I always got so frustrated being in the kitchen making gravy while everyone else was having fun! It is EXCELLENT. The only thing I changed was that I used 2 turkey wings instead of 6. I left the rest of the recipe as is. I also shredded the turkey meat and put it in the gravy at the end. It is outstanding! Last year I used what was leftover and put it into turkey soup. It was the best turkey soup I have ever made. Excellent recipie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States