Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Even with ALL the great reviews I was skeptical that I could make this gravy one day ahead, put in the frig and it would still be great. I am VERY happy to say this gravy was EXCELLENT the next day! Thank you for this recipe and taking the stress out of gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This recipe was fantastic! We fried a turkey, so this was a perfect recipe for us. It turned out a huge batch, so I was able to freeze some for Christmas. Thank you Sue, this is going to be a classic for our holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Actually, I have to revise my first review. I could live with the lumps, but there were a ton of them (despite the fact that I added the flour gradually, which almost never works, I should know by now), and the gravy tasted like flour and nothing else. Had to throw this out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I will never use another gravy again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sooki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
WONDERFUL! This gravy is going to be in my recipe book for years to come. Just made it last night so it would be ready for Turkey Day today...and my mother and I cant stop dunking in it or just eating spoonfuls! WE LOVE IT. Local supermarket didn't have enough wings so I got 2 thighs to supplement. wish I could give this more than 5 stars....ITS THAT GOOD! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I made this yesterday, and finished it today ... a bit of work, but well worth the end result! It tastes delicious, and my gravy is all done for the big day! The only thing I did differently, was after straining the broth, I refrigerated it overnight, making removal of the fat simpler. Definitely 5 stars, and I will make this again. Thanks for this time saving recipe! ♥
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmwood Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cary, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Just finished making the gravy and it is fabulous. I have refrigerated it and will heat it up in the crock pot tomorrow. Can't wait to hear all the compliments. I did use some of the bones from deboning the turkey. I saved all the giblets, carrots and onions for turkey soup. This far better than rushing around just before sitting down to dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Lots of great elements here, but in New Orlean's we'd change a few thins. 1st, we always start with a roux instead of belnding in uncooked flour. Try for the color of peanut butter or darker, and if possible use rendered turkey fat as the oil. After the roux is ready, add minced onion, garlic and celery along with spices such as puoltry seasoning, sage, thyme, or savory. When veggies are wilted, add the stock, bring to a rolling boil and reduce until thick. After you cook the turker, add the pan juices and bring to desired consistency by reducing on stove or adding more stock to your taste. I use a stock, rather than a broth, using the turkey necks, old veggie and poultry trimmings I've saved in the freezer as well as any combination of carrots, turnips, rutabegas, or yams. I simmer it (one bubble every 2 or 3 seconds) at least overnight (I have electric--wouldn't do this on gas) and strain as directed in recipe. This yields a strong, dark, flavorful stock. Another option is to add the neck meat and chopped giblets if you like a giblet gravy. It's really not as much work as it seems, and the flavor intensification is incredible. Kudos aplenty for roasting your stock ingredients and "Bon chance" (good luck)! Laissez les bon temps roulle (Let the good times roll)!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Just finished making this right now. Delicious. Tastes just as good as anything I've made in the past with NO STRESS. I did add about 1 tsp of garlic, and a few shakes of garlic salt. Kept the fat too. Absolutely divine and a huge relief for the big day. Try this -- you'll be glad you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Absolutely out of this world gravy! I couldn't stop eating it after I made it :) It really saves a lot of stress from the big turkey day. To avoid any lumps in your gravy, completely dissolve the flour into the soup mixture before you start adding it into your turkey stock. Also you can use a fine mesh strainer at the end of the process to get a completely smooth finish. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone, it's an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States