Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
What a wonderful recipe. My family loved it when we served it on Thanksgiving. So nice to have it prepared ahead of time. Just heat and serve!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I've made this Make Ahead Turkey gravy for several years now. I'll never go back to the last minute scrambling to make the gravy! It makes a lot of gravy, too, so you've got extra for those open faced sandwiches another day. I always add my brined turkey drippings to it, so it makes even more gravy and with lots of herbs. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
God rest my Mom's soul but she was not a good last minute Turkey Gravy Maker! Therefore, I was not good at it either. I hated putting a jarred gravy on my homemade EVERYTHING Thanksgiving table. I received the "holiday make-ahead newsletter" with this recipe and was thrilled that it could be done ahead of time. So the week prior to turkey day, I prepared this recipe. My house smelled like Thanksgiving! The recipe is spot-on. You can tweak it to your taste buds but I followed the directions exactly and it produces a beautiful gravy I was proud to put on my table! Thanks for sharing! Cant wait for Thanksgiving next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This is going to be a regular for future holiday turkey dinners at my house. We normally smoke our turkey outside so I don't normally have the yummy pan drippings that you get roasting your bird in the oven. I loved being able to make this a day or two before the holiday. It makes it so much less stressful for me. I basically cut the recipe in half and used two wings. It made more than enough gravy to serve 10 and have plenty left over. I was skeptical how this would reheat but was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
A great base to start with but seemed a little sweet to me, so I'll cut back on the carrots next time. Other than that, it was nice to have that task out of the way prior to Thanksgiving with leftover gravy to boot for the follow-up turkey dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shawna Bailes
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I just finished making this gravy tonight to simply reheat tomorrow to go with Thanksgiving dinner. I substituted the neck and giblets for the wings since my husband prides himself on his turkey frying and doesn't let me touch the bird. I also used home canned chicken stock in place of the broth. It looks amazing for my first time making gravy homemade myself! The flavor is awesome too. This recipe is easy and amazing- definitely will be used for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna Bailes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe! So easy and great to have done the day before the holiday. I will probably use this throughout the year as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I followed my gut & made a roux with what I skimmed off the top and the butter which I doubled. I also minced 1/2 of the meat and added to the gravy. Tomorrow when I make gravy from the turkey dripping I will ad this make a head gravy to it. We like gravy on our turkey, stuffing and garlic mashed potatoes so there is no such thing as too much gravy. THANK U SUE! I used to make my extra gravy using extra necks very similar to this. The neck meat is very tender and tasty but work to get the meat off the neck bones. Much easier to get the meat off wings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Loved it! It takes some time but pays off. Its delicious and such a plus to make ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
This recipe was easy and delicious. Having this ready ahead was a plus when getting dinner to the table. It was a tasty addition to the left over turkey and dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

See how to prepare simple make-ahead turkey gravy.

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States