Make-Ahead Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Very nice ...except I made and baked right away. It was delicious and moist. I used a 10' round spring form and had no problems with rising or releasing from the pan. Next time I will sprinkle some of the topping in the middle of the cake as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Super easy! Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This was such a nice treat on a cold and rainy Sunday morning! I had everything prepared the night before and slipped the cake into the oven while the coffee perked. As the kids woke up they said the house smelled like Christmas. It was a very nice and easy going morning we all enjoyed. I did sub soy cream cheese for the dairy version. I also used sodium free baking powder and sodium free baking soda. I added some home made vanilla to the batter and omitted the salt. I used a coffeecake bunt pan and dusted with powdered sugar to finish it off. I think I will make these for Christmas presents for my neighbors this year as we enjoyed it so much. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This cake is absolutely amazing. It is perhaps the best coffee cake I have ever had. I prepared it using flaxseed meal and water as an egg substitute - my youngest daughter had an egg allergy for a long time and we discovered we loved the flavor it added to our dishes, so even though she's outgrown her allergy we still use the substitute. However, everything else we kept the same. We didn't let it sit, we just put it together and placed it in the oven. It turned out amazing! Even my food snob of a brother who lives with me said it was delicious. I highly recommend this dish for anyone with a craving for coffee cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This was an epic fail for me..... I tried to use a bunt pan and there was not the room that the cake needed to rise, luckily I alway have a cookie sheet under everything, also in my mixer the batter wasn't really a pour more of a scoop into the pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This was the perfect texture -- both moist and light. The only change I made was to use Penzey's baking spice blend in place of both the nutmeg and the cinnamon. Also, I used sour cream with a 25% fat content (which I think is a bit higher than standard American sour cream); based how well that worked and on some of the other reviews, this may not be a good recipe to try and cut calories with low-fat sour cream or yogurt....The only change I might make in the future is to concur with other reviewers and add an additional 1/4-1/2 tsp. salt if using unsalted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This is the most moist coffee cake I have ever had! I love that this is made the night before and just popped into the oven in the morning. I would probably add some of the streusel in with the coffee cake instead of putting it all on the top. I also folded in 2 cups fresh blueberries. Its a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Loved he recipe especially making the night before. I cooked 33 minutes and it was very moist, and well received by my family. My only change would be to use less nutmeg. To my taste buds, it was a little too strong instead of being complementary. Other than that, a great coffee cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
EXCELLENT! I love the crunch from the topping. After several mornings of realizing I forgot to make the batter, I decided to go ahead and make it without any refrigeration. If it didn't turn out, it would be no fault of the recipe and no one would know. Well, I can shout out "IT WORKS" and what a treat it was! Although I had to leave out the nuts due to a diet restriction, it was fabulous! Thank you Maridele for sharing such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Yum!! My family loved this!! Served this for breakfast along with scrambled eggs and everyone asked for seconds. This recipe is perfect as written. Thanks so much for sharing!! This will be our go-to coffee cake recipe from now on:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96

Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States