Make-Ahead Sour Cream Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This was such a nice treat on a cold and rainy Sunday morning! I had everything prepared the night before and slipped the cake into the oven while the coffee perked. As the kids woke up they said the house smelled like Christmas. It was a very nice and easy going morning we all enjoyed. I did sub soy cream cheese for the dairy version. I also used sodium free baking powder and sodium free baking soda. I added some home made vanilla to the batter and omitted the salt. I used a coffeecake bunt pan and dusted with powdered sugar to finish it off. I think I will make these for Christmas presents for my neighbors this year as we enjoyed it so much. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This cake is absolutely amazing. It is perhaps the best coffee cake I have ever had. I prepared it using flaxseed meal and water as an egg substitute - my youngest daughter had an egg allergy for a long time and we discovered we loved the flavor it added to our dishes, so even though she's outgrown her allergy we still use the substitute. However, everything else we kept the same. We didn't let it sit, we just put it together and placed it in the oven. It turned out amazing! Even my food snob of a brother who lives with me said it was delicious. I highly recommend this dish for anyone with a craving for coffee cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This was an epic fail for me..... I tried to use a bunt pan and there was not the room that the cake needed to rise, luckily I alway have a cookie sheet under everything, also in my mixer the batter wasn't really a pour more of a scoop into the pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
This was the perfect texture -- both moist and light. The only change I made was to use Penzey's baking spice blend in place of both the nutmeg and the cinnamon. Also, I used sour cream with a 25% fat content (which I think is a bit higher than standard American sour cream); based how well that worked and on some of the other reviews, this may not be a good recipe to try and cut calories with low-fat sour cream or yogurt....The only change I might make in the future is to concur with other reviewers and add an additional 1/4-1/2 tsp. salt if using unsalted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
This is the most moist coffee cake I have ever had! I love that this is made the night before and just popped into the oven in the morning. I would probably add some of the streusel in with the coffee cake instead of putting it all on the top. I also folded in 2 cups fresh blueberries. Its a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Loved he recipe especially making the night before. I cooked 33 minutes and it was very moist, and well received by my family. My only change would be to use less nutmeg. To my taste buds, it was a little too strong instead of being complementary. Other than that, a great coffee cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
EXCELLENT! I love the crunch from the topping. After several mornings of realizing I forgot to make the batter, I decided to go ahead and make it without any refrigeration. If it didn't turn out, it would be no fault of the recipe and no one would know. Well, I can shout out "IT WORKS" and what a treat it was! Although I had to leave out the nuts due to a diet restriction, it was fabulous! Thank you Maridele for sharing such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Yum!! My family loved this!! Served this for breakfast along with scrambled eggs and everyone asked for seconds. This recipe is perfect as written. Thanks so much for sharing!! This will be our go-to coffee cake recipe from now on:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This is terrific first thing in the morning with your coffee. Making it the night before makes it so much easier to have the fresh baked goodness bright and early. I omitted the pecans due to allergy and added a bit more cinnamon...the whole house smelled great as an added bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This recipe is easy and delicious even for those of us who don't plan ahead and forget to put it together the night before. I made a batch this morning start to finish and it turned out delicious! Thanks for sharing your wonderful recipe with us Maridele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States